Poets logo

are memories the same?

Some thoughts, poetry, maybe?

By Paul StewartPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
9
are memories the same?
Photo by Nguyen Dang Hoang Nhu on Unsplash

blood, guilt,

mesmerising pain,

blood, guilt,

machinations of pain,

stain, insane,

draining rein,

hurt, curt,

drowning rain...of memories,

ingrained, pained

are memories the same?

visions, history

rememberance

of the past

safety in nostalgia,

when there's nothing to look back on.

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: I don't know how well I will handle the trickle-trickle publishing technique. Just felt I had to put this happy little ditty up, though. Haha!

Just some thoughts, poetic I guess, about life, nostalgia, pain, anxiety, depression, suffering, guilt, all that wonderful stuff. Happy days!

Here are some others:

You can also check out the rest of my work here and my debut collection of self-published poetry is available from Amazon, here.

surreal poetryStream of Consciousnesssocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetryMental HealthheartbreakFree Versefact or fiction
9

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock4 months ago

    They warm & they stab. They're easy & uncomfortable. They are what they are & will be what they will be.

  • I live in the past so your poem hit me so hard! It was absolutely Paulitical! Also, what's trickle trickle publishing?

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    I wasnt expecting safety in nostaligia so much as pain in rememberance here somehow. It all seemed so sufficed in pain. Was draining rein meant to be vein? My eye read it that way and then refused to give it up.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Damn. "safety in nostalgia, when there's nothing to look back on," hit me square in the wtf joint. Seems all I've been doing lately is looking back. Well done, buddy. *

  • Natasha Collazo4 months ago

    I felt the trauma to this. I’m enjoying your book btw ❤️

  • Suze Kay4 months ago

    lol “happy ditty” you’re taking the piss with that one! As always, I love your lyrical approach to poetry. I think my favorite play here is “draining reign” vs. “drowning rain” there’s something so satisfying about that reversal.

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    Well, ya' got me auld brain goin' in circles here. This is quite a read for a guy who often wonders if his memories can be trusted. Well, done, my friend! I'm curious about the "trickle-trickle publishing" reference, though.

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    💙

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.