Poets logo

If you command it

A Poem to KK

By S E McCarthyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

If you command it

I will wait until the walls of our home

Become a blanket of cobwebs and dust

And the weeds relentlessly choke the path

Just as Judas choked on his sins.

If you command it

I will wait here on this old cross

My body punished by pain and time

While your calf-brown eyes drive

Rusted nails into my willing wrists.

If you command it

I'll wait until the sun's final setting

And the stars fade to vague memory;

Until God is nothing but an obscure

Notion in the infinite cosmic tale.

And if you Command it

I will wait for anger and hurt to shed

Like the skin of the first serpent

That we may rise together once more

Entwined as two lovers newly reborn.

I will wait until the end of all things;

If only you would command it.

surreal poetryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poems
1

About the Creator

S E McCarthy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Elaine Kane Murphy11 months ago

    Great work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.