Poets logo

If you are going to subscribe to me, at least read one of my stories

A tad annoyed and frustrated me

By Novel AllenPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - July 2023

To be clear, I am talking about those scammers

Who do not read the story

But just subscribe and go

We have a great big mixing cauldron

Of dedicated, purposed and intelligent folks creating here

Who daily and ever are spinning marvelous tales

Toiling away in hopes of loving and being loved

For their craft of honestly creating and reading

Who are ever vigilant to the wiles and cunning

Of those who think themselves smart

If you think that I will jump and click

And hurry to read your stories

Just because you decide to subscribe to me

Think again, opportunistic lazy one

How stupid do you really think that I am

You joined in hopes of exploiting to the max

The good nature of the hardworking folks

Who daily toil, write, edit and agonize over the content

Validity and relevance of their heartfelt stories

Who are you to expect a quick fix and reward for doing nothing

But play on the blood, sweat and tears of the faithful and the caring

It may be that you have my best interest at heart by subscribing

But please read a story or maybe two to show your solidarity and sincerity

So I can separate you from the unscrupulous and unjust

As much as I love a good subscription as much as the other person

In the immortal words of Cezanne Libellen

"Please don't subscribe to my Vocal stories, if sincerity and good will,

Is sadly lacking in your character, and you hope to gain something

From doing nothing to contribute to the upliftment of myself and my

Fellow readers and writers upon this Vocal platform!

You insult the creators, by infringing on their time

Which should be spent on positivity going forward

Instead of chasing after fraudsters and imposters

Posing as honest to goodness creatures with a smidgen

Of any type of talent whatsoever

That is all I have to say for now!

Back off and leave us be".

...................................Cover pic by NightCafe Studio.

slam poetry

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (38)

  • Joe Patterson11 months ago

    A great message for the fake subs to hear, congratulations on top story.

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    Novel, congrats on your leaderboard placement!! 🎉

  • I'm sooooo with you on this one! Also, that was brilliant to include what Cezanne said!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    Novel, this must also be your art! It has your vote/ style to it and I adore it! I can see why it’s highly praised! 🩵 I love this sassy poem from you! I feel like it’s cathartic to see someone else so passionate about these scammers wasting our time or attempting to! Love the quote you included from Cezanne, she is so well spoken for someone so young! I can see why this was Top Story, those scammers need to be stopped and put in their place!! May I ask one favour of you? Can I use this in a personal file of mine? I have a file that contains a list of links that I send to scammers when they link bomb and do this crap. I would love to add this to my collection, with your permission.

  • ROCK 11 months ago

    How do we know if someone has read our writing? I read and learn from other writer's creations. I do notice I have very few comments or subscribers yet I am not in competition with them. I am writing for myself and sharing with the hope someone will start to read my writing and get somehting good out of it. In some ways I feel invisible as I don't crank out stories fast and need a nudge. Comments reflect someone read what I wrote. That feels good. I hope you feel good knowing I took the time to read your article or commentary today.

  • Thavien Yliaster11 months ago

    I say it's best to ignore those that try to farm clicks and reads not out of self-righteous greed, but because if we have better things to do with better people in our lives we should be doing them, those are goals that moving towards we should strive. Yes, the negative exist, just like the waste. To only focus on the negative instead of the positive we can make drains our time, forcing us to make haste. Instead of bud-biting, and constantly nipping, why not get to quipping with creative process reading and writing?

  • I can clearly see how your method of letting cover art help craft your writing is a beneficial practice. Art inspires your art. This is a very poetic and artistic way of elegantly asking others to respect the art of writing. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    PHOAR! I loved this! Preach. 👏☺️ I liked your witchy cauldron pic and metaphor too Novel! Congrats on Top Story too. 😁

  • Dave Rowlands11 months ago

    Reminds me of the haiku craze a few months ago. Haikus are great, but if someone can read the whole thing without even clicking on it? What's even the point?

  • Bozhan Bozhkov11 months ago

    Good point, but how do you understand if somebody did read your article? From the quality of the comments? Because I mean that Vocal does not provide such information.

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Wonderfully expressed!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Rui Alves11 months ago

    Some just give their heart and run...

  • Joe Luca11 months ago

    Here, here. Well stated. 😊✨🌹

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    A Top Story with a top message: there are a lot of people who click on thumbs up and hearts just to belong to a club. Keep them honest. ;)

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER11 months ago

    Hello, dear Novel. I see that you were able to share your concerns and merge them with your art. BFN. 💙

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    Preach. Congrats on this getting top Story!

  • Yanger Mollier11 months ago

    So true

  • Sid Aaron Hirji11 months ago

    Ya so true-scammers are toxic

  • Rob Angeli11 months ago

    Congrats on TS! (I fell for that trick once or twice as a desperate newbie and it broke my heart when my notifications were inundated with generic AI generated content. :(

  • Rob Angeli11 months ago

    Spectacular piece, needs to be said, and you said it with great literary style and wit. Amen.

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Whoooo-ee! You tell 'em Novel! Congratulations on Top Story! 🧠🦾

  • Ha, 😆✨👀👍❤️🤣You Tell em💯💥Clearly it's Sadly Lacking in Their Disposition - 😃CONGRATULATIONS ON YOUR AMAZING TOP STORY🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Catherine Dorian11 months ago

    Thank you for this, Novel! Each morning, I carve out anywhere from 10 to 30 minutes to get on Vocal, read a story, and write a genuine, personalized, thoughtful comment on someone's work. It's helped me make some actual connections on here. And it brings me genuine joy! As writers, we know that the relationships that we build with other writers are everything to our own momentum and success. Let's keep this community thriving by choosing to engage with it thoughtfully.

  • Alexander McEvoy11 months ago

    Preach! 🙌 Scammers are the worst and i feel very lucky that I haven’t had too much interaction with them yet *knock on wood*

Novel AllenWritten by Novel Allen

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.