Poets logo

Embracing the five senses

MY GREATEST FEAR. Challenge by Real Poetic

By Novel AllenPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
A NightCafe creation

I fear more than anything I can imagine

The loss of the joy of exalting in the homage, splendor and majesty

Of a brand new resplendent and glorious brand new day

To lose the ability to see the sun as she rises at daybreak

And revel in the mystic creation of the newly awakened morn

I fear losing the touch

Of the sun's warmth upon my awakened joyful upturned dew kissed face

To savor the majesty of the new sun as she blazes her glory across the sky

I fear more than anything I can imagine

Being unable to bask in the smell of the purple Lavender

With its clean and calming fragrant scent

Or the Sweetpea, so colorful with its delicate honey-like fragrance

The Jasmine, that fragrant white flower that blooms at night

The Love of the Roses, classic flowers in their many varieties and shades

Ah! The Stargazer Lily, a pink and white flower with a sweet and pungent smell.

How deeply it would hurt to not be able to hear

The first early morning chirping of the birds, or the buzz of the honeybees

As they drink of the fresh nectar of the dew bathed flowery blooms

I fear not being able to say

I glorify, exalt, venerate, magnify and honor you my five wonderous senses

As my soul tastes of the essence of this sublime and marvelous creation

And give thanks to the creator, of a new and fabulous day

Inspiration awaits, embraced within a brand new beginning!

.....................................................................................................

I am joining my voice To Real Poetic's poetry challenge. Find her here.

performance poetrynature poetryinspirational

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (13)

  • Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛12 months ago

    Excellent work, I missed that challenge (I miss most) but enjoyed this

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    This is beautiful - horrifying in many ways because of the premise, but beautifully descriptive. I also have a new fear to add to my short list haha, thanks for that. Seriously though, this is grade A poetry! Well done, Novel!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    Novel your descriptive language is beautiful in this poem! Before this I would have said my biggest fear is being touched by a fish, but now I think it's this... It was moving and so well written! Great work! 💖

  • Jazmin Fernandez12 months ago

    I loved it, so beautiful Novel💓💓👏🏼

  • Missclicked12 months ago

    loved it!

  • Tiffany Gordon 12 months ago

    Beautiful work!

  • Oh wow, I have never paid much attention to the fear of losing my senses and your poem made me realise have I do fear that! You nailed this challenge!

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Brilliant & beautiful!!! Sensationally written!!! Loved it!!!

  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    Oh you sensual creature! I never thought about it, but the loss of senses would be horrifying.

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER12 months ago

    Misty eyed, I embrace this. In my mind, Madam Fleming has put notes 🎶 to words ✍️ and sung this. Thank you! 💙

  • Rob Angeli12 months ago

    I love how you string your garland of flowers, lavender, sweet-pea, jasmine, rose, lily, over this fear of losing the various joys of the senses. Ode to sensation, bravo!

  • Real Poetic12 months ago

    This was beautiful and so unique.

  • Ruth Stewart12 months ago

    Wonderful as ever! I will share in a moment.

Novel AllenWritten by Novel Allen

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.