Poets logo

If Not A Person, Then What Am I?

A Poem

By Gary RagnarssonPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
12
If Not A Person, Then What Am I?
Photo by Dylan McLeod on Unsplash

If not a person,

Then what am I?

A mere shadow

Of who I want to be?

An infinitesimal fragment

Of an imagined self?

Or is it worse than that?

Who is this man?

This stranger reflected

In the cold, swirling fluid,

Of a freshly poured gin glass?

This wide eyed, vacant vessel,

This outlaw staring back at me.

Who is this apparition with messy hair and unkempt beard,

With his young eyes full of life and hope,

Framed in sunken, black lids,

and worry-wrinkles?

What life exists for him here?

What hope dare he have?

What light,

At the end of the tunnel?

Which line will he walk?

The white, powdered one,

With it’s whispered promises of a good time?

Or the long, hard one, which he knows leads to happiness?

I and this mirrored entity,

We are not the same,

Though his reality bends to my will.

His ‘now’ changes at my declaration.

If not a person, then who is he?

If not a person, then what am I?

Only I can decide.

* * * * *

Follow me on Instagram and Facebook to stay up to date with my most recent stories and musings. I often write fiction, share lifestyle posts, ponder philosophy and metaphysics, and more! If that tickles your pickle, head over there and drop a like or two! 😊

If you enjoy my content, please consider leaving a tip or pledging a small amount monthly to help fund my creative endeavours!

More Like This

surreal poetry
12

About the Creator

Gary Ragnarsson

Deep thinker, stoic, and writer from the UK, sharing everything from philosophical insights to my most intimate, personal stories.

In a world consumed by chasing more, I’m over here embracing less on purpose.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Self discovery is very important, so we can be our authentic self . Great message in the poem

  • Joe Pattersonabout a year ago

    Great job Gary.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is fabulous, Gary. My favourite line: This stranger reflected In the cold, swirling fluid, Of a freshly poured gin glass?" Really, really well done.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I thought you did a wonderful job with this one :) Full of emotion and relatable feelings. Great work!

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Definitely thought-provoking! Nice work. :)

  • One I'd missed but you have an extra heart and hopefully a red. Great words.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.