Poets logo

The Thirst

A Five Year Old Free-Write

By Gary RagnarssonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

The thirst: it kills me,

Yet somehow I live,

Haunted, angry,

Tired.

What Deity would send this curse?

What foul creature,

Angel or demon,

Could inflict...

This?

Feasting on flesh is,

Bad, isn't it?

I no longer know.

I remember things from before:

love, happiness,

Breath.

Now, each moment is suffocation,

My lungs,

They are dead.

As you will be.

Soon.

Do not question my morals,

My heart, or my intention.

I have none.

I am the beast that stalks the night.

The lion of the darkness.

I know that you suffer,

But I don't care.

I... Can't.

It takes over.

The thirst,

It moves me.

It sends shivers through my spine.

Air through my lungs,

And blood through my veins.

Yes, I know suffering.

I know it too well.

Here I exist,

Endlessly in limbo,

Consumed by the unquenchable,

The untameable,

Thirst.

So I found this little gem in my Facebook Memories today… from five years ago!

I don’t remember it in the slightest, and it struck me as something I simply had to re-share now that I’ve developed and evolved as a writer. I don’t often write in this kind of way at all, (though below I’ve linked a rare exception) and rarely even write horror these days.

Maybe I should revisit my roots in the coming weeks and months?

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed it. Until next time…

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Gary Ragnarsson

Deep thinker, stoic, and writer from the UK, sharing everything from philosophical insights to my most intimate, personal stories.

In a world consumed by chasing more, I’m over here embracing less on purpose.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.