Poets logo

If my reflection wasn’t me

An observation of self

By RMHPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
If my reflection wasn’t me
Photo by Yeshi Kangrang on Unsplash

If my reflection wasn’t me,

Would I judge her like I do,

Would I make her eyes run blue,

Would I berate her for what she can’t control,

The square jawline, the little mole.

If my reflection wasn’t me,

I’d give her encouragement not spite,

I’d not notice imperfections,

I’d be the friend she could turn to,

Laugh about it, then console her.

If my reflection wasn’t me,

Would I embrace all her mistakes,

Would I see her light, her strength, her fight,

Would I tolerate her doubts,

Let her scream and shout it out.

If my reflection wasn’t me,

I’d help her chase away the demons,

I’d tell her it’s ok to fail and fall,

I’d help her rise, smooth the scars,

Hold her tight until she felt alright.

If my reflection wasn’t me...

Problem is, we are me

inspirational

About the Creator

RMH

Lighting my creative fire, one word at a time

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    RMHWritten by RMH

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.