Poets logo

If I should stay

You don't need me anymore

By Esther AmiPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

Wait, hold up

That’s not how I thought this would go

You have to believe me

Now here’s how this goes

If I could, I’d stay a while

It wouldn’t even matter if you noticed

I’d love the thought of being in your company

The idea that we would be in the same room

The same space, separated only by a distance

The thought comforts me

If I could, I’d move close

Past the crowd and right to the center

To get a better glimpse of you

You in the spotlight

I dreamed of this day

All eyes on you

When yours looked up to me

In that moment, I saw it

The world would know your name

If I wanted to, if I had the chance to

I would have held you close

Given everything up just to have you

But life ripped you from my arms

You were my joy but pain was my better half

When life threw me a curve ball

I couldn’t keep you

I just couldn’t

You weren’t mine to have

You belonged to the world

I was only a conduit

Your way into the light

I should have held on longer

Kept you hidden and in my arms

But you had a story to tell

A life to live and Lord knows

There was no other way; not if the world would come to know your name

Listen to your story and be inspired

So I stand here today

Hoping our eyes meet

That you would throw a warm smile my way

And if in that moment, your eyes would stay on me

I’d hope to speak these words to you

From the depth of my being

I birthed you, I was chosen for you

I had you once but I gave you away

But I’d only have a split second to say what’s truly in my heart

So here goes …..

love poems
1

About the Creator

Esther Ami

Words are powerful and it matters how we use them. I use my words to build and impact, I use my words to lift and inspire. I am a words-person, I love words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.