Poets logo

If I Could Give You The Moon

Thoughts of you as I looked at the moon

By Zyllah CandelariaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Written for Corey C. Taber

Gazing up at the moon I had the thought, if I could I would give you the moon. It would be ours to escape to when there was nowhere else to be. To look up at the earth and admire the patterns of the clouds that form from a whole new angle. If I could I would give you the stars. A vast sea of twinkling lights to explore and wonder through as if nothing else existed. Space is often said to be the final frontier, but the true final frontier is the bond formed between two people when they share something as intimate as the great unknowns of the universe. If I could, I would give you a galaxy. To see different edges of space and to keep their secrets. Comets would pass us by as if they're saying hello and asking us to stay a while.

If I could, I would give you a second moon. Maybe one surrounding Jupiter, we could lay back and be mesmerized by the storms brewing on the surface while falling asleep. On any given day there's something to see; and on an asteroid we can hitch a ride to new areas in the expanse of this outer alien world. Constellations that have never been named will be ours to give life to, a robot hidden in the stars that's just been waiting to be discovered.

I can't give you the moon... as much as I would love to... You've given me the world and you deserve something in return. I can't give you the stars but we can admire them from afar. Imagining different aliens that might live among them. We can't ride on an asteroid through a sea of galaxies, but we can still explore them together with the magic of technology. The robot made of stars is still out there and when we find it we can still keep it, we can find a way.

You're my sun, moon, planets, and comets. The love I feel for you extends beyond the reaches of our known universe. Without you I feel as if there's nothing to explore and no reason to look up at the stars. It's easy to tell you all of this but it's hard to properly show you how I feel. Like an alien language I'm attempting to translate, like a message sent from deep space that I'm trying to decode, my effort seems minimal but the intent I hope speaks louder than the misunderstandings in communications made up of beeps and metallic dings.

If I could... I would give you the moon. Earth has too many people on it that only want the sun, but the sun is only wanted because people want to stay in the light. The light hides the real prize, which is the darkness needed to see all the other things this universe has to offer. It hides the opportunity to embrace the person you love while witnessing the true beauty of the unknown.

If I could only have one wish it would be to look up at the stars and the moon with you again. To sit there with each other and look at the different shapes in the sky. To fall asleep next to you under the moon and admire the way you look in the moonlight. To be at peace knowing that even if I can't bring you the moon that I can bring you the comfort of not being alone to navigate life. A kiss in under the stars is all I need to feel as if I can give you the galaxy.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Zyllah Candelaria

ences

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.