Poets logo

I wonder

do you?

By Heather HublerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Created with CanvaPro

I wonder.

Each and every day, I wonder.

What's it like?

How does it feel to be cradled by darkness,

to be comforted by its tranquility

and never know the depravity lurking in its depths?

To embrace rainy days filled with warm soup and towel-dried kisses,

and not be paralyzed with overwhelming terror at being kept inside that house.

I wonder how it would feel to escape the prison walls, immovable in my mind,

to look in the mirror and see anything but flaws and a broken thing.

I've no idea.

I see you with your kindness, your light, your unattainable effervescence that comes from a life that was sheltered, protected from the heavy,

and I wonder how we can possibly get along.

You try to see that same light in others,

and never once does it occur to you that it's only your glaring reflection.

You've no idea how innocent some of your remarks seem, rubbing salt in my festering wounds.

But I'm glad for that.

Jealous of it.

Starved for it really.

I can feel my damaged soul seeking the brilliance in yours.

Unavoidable.

Drawn like a magnet.

My north to your south.

You flourish and bloom in the naivety and surety of a world filled with love and light,

While I cling to the scraps, the echos of fear and pain, my constant companions.

I wonder what it'd be like

to mix the pair of us.

Squish my agony and your innocence together like lumps of clay

and mold something new,

something whole.

Because together,

ah, together–

we could coalesce.

Create beauty from pain.

Find joy despite it.

Find joy within it.

-

I wonder when I'll find you, my counterpart,

this lifetime or next?

sad poetry

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (16)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a year ago

    Agony vs. innocence. Naiveite vs. wisdom born of endless wounds & dying. You help us to believe that blending is possible, that we might become whole, a gestalt, greater than we have ever been before. And less. Less arrogant & presumptuous. Less proud & insensitive to those around us..., to ourselves. Less driven, careless & hurtful. Less deadly to all that is good & lovely in one another..., in ourselves. Less blind to those around us both in beauty & in need. Less blind, thoughtless & cruel to the one we are most keen to abuse, beat into submission & kill..., the one we hide from the world outside, denying their presence even to ourselves..., ourself. When will we find each other? Maybe not yet in this lifetime. Still, there is hope. Compelling, beautiful, powerful, anguished, yet touched with hope & the possibility this is not forever.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Whoaaaaaaa! This was gorgeous. Sending you hugs ❤️❤️❤️

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    This beautiful poem , thanks for sharing

  • JBazabout a year ago

    “Cradled by darkness” wow that is strong and beautiful. This will be Top Story

  • Whoaaa, it's like you have a CCTV in my mind. This was very relatable. I did find my counterpart and was very happy. But they left me and here I am questioning worth. Your poem was so emotional and raw and I loved it!

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Hey girlie! This was one gorgeous piece of writing! You need your own book! You already have the brilliance that you are admiring in this poem. Well done my friend!

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    damn! a masterclass in raw and heartfelt poetry! wrote with a gentleness! your word choices, descriptions and the emotions you draw are as impeccable as ever! so sad but so honest and so good!

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    sad and exposed but with an elegance that wont let your inner shine dull - beautiful!

  • Kalina Bethanyabout a year ago

    This one hit deep, beautiful work!

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    I love the rawness of your writing, Heather! You always evoke those deep emotions. I’ve felt this heaviness and you wrote it perfectly. Beautiful expression! 💫

  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Hi 'H' ~ I often 'Wonder' how can always 'Squish' into my brain? - Vocal Authors Community - Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Wow. Just wow. I really felt this one! ‘Create beauty from pain’ is so raw and real. Fantastic work.

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    A beautifully stolen moment into Wonderment

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Holey moley. This is great. I am forever amazed at the stuff that falls out of your brain, and a little bit (okay, a lot) jealous. Well done, my nerdy friend.

  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    Coalesce. One of my favourite words!

  • Beautiful and deep piece 😉❤️💯📝-Towel Dried kisses 💋I love it❗

Heather HublerWritten by Heather Hubler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.