Poets logo

I Will Never Be As Whole As I Was Before

I will never be more broken than I am now

By SouluminosityPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
3
I Will Never Be As Whole As I Was Before
Photo by Noah Buscher on Unsplash

Depression doesn't just come and go

It destroys and erodes

half my life is spent rebuilding the ruins left after the great fall

I will never be as whole as I once was

fluttering eyelids in the childish sunlight

Swinging so high my feet made friends with the stars

I will never be as broken as I am now

Crumbled like kinetic sand, so soft and malleable, yet, so strong

you will not break me

I refuse

You will not break me

I refuse

you will not break me

I will light a match and burn these ruins down before you hold them captive in your slimy hands again

...

I do not have the words to say how I feel most of the time, so I use metaphors

I feel like the swing just before it comes back down, some type of limbo, some type of anticipation hanging in the air, something I am always waiting for but never comes

I feel like the ground right before an earthquake, vibrato bones, anxious limbs, every atom just waiting to crumble.

love poemssad poetry
3

About the Creator

Souluminosity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani6 months ago

    Makes me think of good ol' childhood days on the swing at the park - Swinging so high my feet made friends with the stars - just beautiful words!

  • Luther6 months ago

    Nice work ❤️ I’m new here hope my stories are good 😊 just like the ways you guys get to top stories

  • Alex H Mittelman 6 months ago

    Wow! Very emotional and intense! Great work!

  • Margaret Brennan6 months ago

    depression is an awful emotion to fight. Often I find myself conflicted between soaring or drowning. It's a struggle and looking on the bright side of life, isn't always easy. When I get low, I sit and read. My choice of books? Light and fun. Try the Ghosts of Culloden Moor. (there are 79 in the series) They are lighthearted (not comedy) but always help pick me up.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.