Poets logo

"RESPECT ME AS I AM NO MAN'S WIFE"

"I AM OKAY AS AN ECCENTRIC MOM & GRANDMA!"

By Vicki Lawana Trusselli Published 13 days ago Updated 5 days ago 5 min read
7
Sisters Are Doin’ It For Themselves [Ft. Aretha Franklin] (Official Video)

RESPECT ME AS I AM NO MANS WIFE!

I AM OKAY AS AN ECCENTRIC MOM & GRANDMA!

As a woman I had to write this from my heart and soul

To be bold as I am old,

A comment made about me as a woman,

To how I think about being a wife,

My answer is I am no man's wife out of strife.

I am a mom and a grandma,

Out of my heart and soul.

I love my kids & my grands so much.

I can hug.

I can love.

But no man’s wife out of strife,

To fit the mold

I am so old.

The persons’ who ask me to change who I am,

As a jezebel with red toenails

And red gels in my hair,

An artist, a writer, a mom, a grandma,

That’s who I am,

Not no man’s wife,

Of strife

Of a controlling macho man of life.

I am a woman who has been through life

& strife

Of relationships

With men

So, I enjoy being the jezebel,

Not in the kitchen or as a conventional wife.

I am divorced twice.

I am a woman jezebel of sorts,

Filled with might,

Of strife of life,

The jezebel.

I ring my bell,

And continue as a scarlet woman

To certain people in my life

I am okay.

Are you okay?

I write this out of learning to love myself,

As a woman, not as a wife

Out of strife.

I would marry again,

But a guitar man to sing me songs

About life, love, and healing vibes

Of art & written words of love.

I am a mom and a grandma.

I love my kids & grands

To the moon & back.

I follow the light,

So bright

Tomorrow & tonight.

So, love me my sons for who I am

As a human being

A jezebel mom

Of sorts with red toenails

& flowers in my hair

To ring my bells

With red gel in my hair

Or pink or all colors

Of the rainbow

So

I am no man’s wife,

Is a positive way,

To go today

Unless

It’s a guitar man to hold me tight.

Love my kids.

Love my grands.

Love my life of strife,

Of might

Signed sealed and delivered,

Jezebel

Don’t make me shiver,

With cold words of the day

To say I am not a good wife,

Good grandma or mom,

Cause I don’t fit the mold

Of your reality.

I am not your father’s wife.

This is your jezebel,

With red toenails

And red gel in my hair

Out of strife of life

I am a good woman,

A human being,

Your jezebel eccentric mom &

Grandma

But no man’s wife.

A new prose with a twist

Of love lost

Love betrayal

Of living with narcissistic

Patriarchal men whom

I no longer am their wife

Due to strife in my life

Of betrayal

And lies,

In disguise

Of expectations

Of whom I am as a woman,

Being born in 1949,

I was told I could only

Do certain things in life,

Due to being born female

I questioned that ole’ wives tale

Then and I question it now

In 2024

Of the year of our lord

From being 74.

I am fed up from the core

Of life and strife

Of still being asked to write

About my life as a wife

Mom and grandmother

To bake cookies pies and cakes

And be the lovely traditional mate

Of men whom I am not with

And do not want to be with.

I love my grandkids and my kids

With all my heart and being.

I do not love their dad

As we were so 180 degrees

Different more than night and day

As trees sway this way

To be loved by the way,

I am supposed to be a cookies and

Cream cakes and all that

To what I say to that

I am okay with who I am

As a woman and mom and grandma.

It’s the introspection I do

To be a human being

A flower child and how I love

With unconditional love

But how I am not loved back

As a unique human being that I am.

So, the deal I say

Today

I will go buy you pan dulce,

And start the coffee,

Pour the creamer!

Sit a spell

To weave my stories

Into a web of truth

For what lies in between the

Dark and the light so bold

As now I am old

Still hearing old wives tales

Of yesteryear in the year of our lord

2024,

Still fighting for peace and freedom

For humanity and especially women.

But as that’s political not to be spoken of

But change to 1864

To weave a tale of woe

Of how in 2024 at 74.

I am still writing about how it feels to be a wife, a mom, a grandmother.

It feels normal to be a mom and grandmother.

I am no man’s wife

Out of strife,

And I don’t need to be a man’s

Wife.

I still can be a mom and grandma

To live and love with all my might

Not to be criticized for who I am as a human being.

I am not a jezebel

Nor Scarlett woman of 1864

I live in 2024

As a

Person who is a humanitarian

No more war

Please

Just a little respect

For truth and not uncouth words

To spew towards me as a female

To weave the web of truth not lies

But words

Spoken of this and that

Rat a tat tat…..

Written by

VICKI LAWANA TRUSSELLI

AGE 74

APRIL 26, 2024

JEZEBEL

NO MAN'S WIFE

surreal poetryStream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryProseMental HealthinspirationalheartbreakFree VerseFamilyfact or fictionCONTENT WARNINGBallad
7

About the Creator

Vicki Lawana Trusselli

I worked for the music and film industry in Los Angeles, California and Austin, Texas. I studied nursing, journalism, art, film, and computers in college. I am an empath, Virgo; Leo moon rising, born on the cusp of Libra. Peace Out!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer11 days ago

    Love it! You're a gift to the daughters that come after you 😁

  • Shirley Belk12 days ago

    Do you!

  • Don't be shoved into a tiny box of what others believe is "normal". You are an Amazing Lady and I adore you! Big Squishy Hugs!

  • Fantastic job! You’re respectable! 😀

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.