Poets logo

I was awaken all the night!

This truly happened yesterday

By Esala GunathilakePublished 10 days ago β€’ 1 min read
I was awaken all the night!
Photo by Pawel Nolbert on Unsplash

Yesterday I had a dream,

That dream became a reality,

I was awakened all the night,

For a quarter nychthemeron, when switched off the light,

Yeah, literary it was dark,

But inside the mind, it was a beacon,

It wasn't far away from the sharp midnight,

I stepped up the stairs,

To be at the slab of my house,

The floor I was and the surrounding was like,

A large turf covered with a black color blanket,

The sky was like a painter abducting the peacock's eye and making that seal in his drawing,

A beautiful cloud floated like a silk fabric in the sky,

A bat flew over me by whispering a secret,

Neither a single tree nor any tree made a movement,

I wondered trees were asleep,

But when I saw the sky and stars made me chuckle,

I realized stars were aroused as I do,

I smiled back at the stars,

I was looking for hours and hours,

A range of clouds conquered my stars,

But the ecstasy the stars gave me was still in the heart,

A gentle rain fell,

I became a partaker of it and still was with nature,

When the rain prince turned into the beast,

Again, I could see one star,

Such an amass of nature's blessings,

Coldness, adventure and all the things,

Felt like a featherless butterfly in front of nature,

I wished to be a nature's child forever,

The sun was peeping for a fresh Today,

The final phase of my realized dream!

Hope you enjoyed my poem. If you have a similar experience let me in the comments !!!

Friendshipnature poetryinspirationalFree Verse

About the Creator

Esala Gunathilake

I am an enthusiastic writer who feel the sense of humanity. Thus, I can write stanzas, short stories, novels, articles and blogs as well. I am a blog contributor for the Ananda College Engineer's Ink student chapter website.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (14)

  • Staringale2 days ago

    The wonders of lucid dreaming. I admit at the beginning I thought it might be about a nightmare but it turned out to be a beautiful moment of nature appreciation. Loved it Esala.

  • Seemab Gul 5 days ago

    Well done

  • Daria Voynova8 days ago

    I like your use of imagery in this poem. Keep going!

  • Esala this is once again world class storytelling!!! I'm immensely pleased to see you are on a consecutive growth..soon you'll reach the top crest of creativity..

  • Novel Allen9 days ago

    Watching a beautiful starry night is the best feeling. You watched the sun breaking through to morning. I learned a word too. Good work.

  • Andrea Corwin 10 days ago

    I agree with Dharr below. Peacock eye and enjoying the rain… good work!

  • Sherif Saad10 days ago

    Amazing work

  • Oooo, I learned a new word, ncyhthemeron! Loved your poem!

  • Dawnxisoul393art10 days ago

    The descriptive imagery is breathtaking, from the "black color blanket" of the ground to the "peacock's eye" in the sky, creating an immersive sensory experience. Bravo on this lyrical and deeply moving work!

  • Kodah10 days ago

    I've had a similar experience, lucid dreaming!! Incredible poem! πŸ’Œ

  • Abdul Qayyum10 days ago

    Sorry you have awaken all the night!

  • Gloria Penelope10 days ago

    Great poem, I enjoyed reading about your dream.

  • Quinn Frost10 days ago

    Nice and refreshing :). Now I have to go back and read mine on here lol. We don't realize how resonating writing can be and the timing of it all. Cheers!

  • Margaret Brennan10 days ago

    how I wish I could share a dream or two but my dreams take on a very eerie subject that I'm sure most would never understand. Most often, neither do I.

Esala GunathilakeWritten by Esala Gunathilake

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.