Poets logo

I Want You

Like I Want Only You

By Patrick M. OhanaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Photo by Cristian Newman on Unsplash

What does anyone really want at the beginning and or the end of one’s life?

To be loved is a common reply.

To live forever is also common but foolish.

To be wealthy as a billionaire and thus powerful is another trip.

To be happy is a recurrent failing theme.

To matter in some way is at least interesting.

To be able to love is a rare response.

To love and be loved may be the ultimate answer.

I want you like I want only you

But you want me differently.

You want me as a second choice.

Someone else is normally the first.

I always hated the word normal.

There’s nothing normal about it.

It’s usual, standard, typical, common, ordinary, customary, conventional, habitual, expected, regular, routine, established, settled, set, fixed, traditional, prevailing.

It’s freaking not what I want.

I want you like I want only you.

It’s not normal or any of those failing words.

I want to be your first choice.

You can keep your first choice until she leaves

To become someone else’s first choice or second.

There is no third choice.

The third choice is always death or servitude.

love poems

About the Creator

Patrick M. Ohana

A medical writer who reads and writes fiction and some nonfiction, although the latter may appear at times like the former. Most of my pieces (over 2,200) are or will be available on Shakespeare's Shoes.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Patrick M. OhanaWritten by Patrick M. Ohana

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.