Poets logo

I want to hear, more importantly, I want to believe.

A poem of heartbreak

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
I want to hear, more importantly, I want to believe.
Photo by Kyle Cleveland on Unsplash

I want to hear, more importantly, I want to believe.

(First time we kissed.)

I want to hear, more importantly, I want to believe.

(First time you whispered in my ear.)

I want to hear, more importantly, I want to believe.

(First time we kissed. You were hungry, you nibbled on my lip like an ear of roasted corn. Elote. You called me your cute little Elote.)

I want to hear, more importantly, I want to believe.

(First time you whispered in my ear. It sounded like spring melting into summer. Hot, sweet, a short dream.)

I want to hear, more importantly, I want to believe.

(You told me I was your Kawliga… you told me we got it made, we were made to be. The first time we kissed, you kissed me… like you would a petal on a rose.)

I want to hear, more importantly, I want to believe.

(When did you last fuck me? When did you hear my bell ringing? That intense drumming reverberating in your very core? I want to hear, more importantly, I want to believe.)

I want to hear, more importantly, I want to believe.

(I love you. Last time we spoke. I love you, Thus spoke, Zarathustra, you read it to me. I hated it. I love you.)

I want to hear, more importantly, I want to believe.

(No, I hate you. /please don’t look me in my pained eyes with that utter disdain, those eyes who melted my soul into a quiet river, I’m a man, but even I can have my heart broken/ You love me like a love song, baby, baby, baby.)

I want to hear, more importantly, I want to believe.

(First time you said hello, I heard I love you. The last time you said I love you, it felt like goodbye. No more hot summer corn. Just windy, red days that cut through my heart beat.)

I want to hear, more importantly, I want to believe.

(First time we kissed.)

I heard a bunch of music, it was new music. Like magic. Like hot summer nights and the light colored glass of my aunt’s tinted windows hitting our grasping forms.

(First time we kissed.)

It’s a religion, feeling our sins, like rain.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Marie Cadette Pierre-Louis2 years ago

    Beautiful!

  • Angela Derscha2 years ago

    Heartbreaking but beautiful.

  • This is absolutely beautiful and heartbreaking and ugh goosebumps

  • Joe Patterson2 years ago

    Bold and daring, good job.

  • This was so heartbreakongly beautiful!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Heartbreaking but lovely!!!💖💕

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Pained, but wonderful.

  • Big hugs for this sis

Melissa IngoldsbyWritten by Melissa Ingoldsby

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.