Poets logo

I See You, My Man

With my short-sighted eyes

By Manisha DhalaniPublished 23 days ago 1 min read
11
I See You, My Man
Photo by David Travis on Unsplash

Those black-rimmed glasses

Oh, how I adore you more

When you put them on.

I wish contact lenses

Were never invented (throw them away!)

For you look so much more dignified,

Heroic,

Handsome,

With glasses on.

Call me shallow

Call me short-sighted (but oh, I am)

But I want to see you

The way I see myself.

And when I see you

Through the lens that I don

My heart flutters.

Skips a beat, even.

Oh, my man.

Soon, the world will know you more

Than they already do

But I'll be content

To know that you're forever mine (is there such a thing?)

And that it's into the warm embrace

Of my arms

That you will return to

Every night.

Here's hoping.

love poemsFree VerseFor FunFamily
11

About the Creator

Manisha Dhalani

Content writer and marketer helping solopreneurs achieve organic growth. Loves reading, eating cake, and having insightful conversations.

www.manishadhalani.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • oludotun oyedele18 days ago

    So interesting a poem. But the glasses frame that hang the lens will always support when the need arise to see that which she behold. Oh my glasses how wonderful you are to give more light to my day. Lovely you keep it up

  • Adriana Bazan22 days ago

    Thoughtfully crafted piece. "Soon, the world will know you more..." Love that line!

  • Awww, this was so sweet and lovely! Made me smile hehehehe. Loved your poem!

  • K. Wisendanger 22 days ago

    Compelling

  • Glacier Heart22 days ago

    is that medical lens ?

  • Shaun Walters23 days ago

    I love the lines from “ but I want to see…” through “the lens I don..” great job!

  • Janee Austen23 days ago

    Forever is such a thing? OMG beautifully written

  • Even though I don’t wear glasses but they look super awesome ☺️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.