Poets logo

I Remember

A Glimpse at the Year 2033

By Stephanie HoogstadPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
12
I Remember
Photo by Egor Vikhrev on Unsplash

Author’s Note: This is for Real Poetic’s unofficial Year 2033 challenge. To join in, follow the link below.

Oh, the year 2033

Things just aren’t what they used to be—

I remember home-cooked meals

Now subscription plan food is all we feel

I remember live TV

Now all we do is stream—paid and free

I remember real exercise

Now we virtually blast our thighs

I remember walking down the streets

Now the riots and protests prevent me

I remember Planned Parenthood

And accessing birth control like I should

I remember free speech

Without so much hate speech

I remember my hometown

Before the whole thing burned down

In a blazing glory of wildfire

Born of human neglect and climate change

I remember our country’s wonder

Before we were torn asunder

From one voting blunder

After which nothing was ever the same

I remember a better time

But that better time is too far gone

sad poetrysocial commentary
12

About the Creator

Stephanie Hoogstad

With a BA in English and MSc in Creative Writing, writing is my life. I have edited and ghost written for years with some published stories and poems of my own.

Learn more about me: thewritersscrapbin.com

Support my writing: Patreon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Bamimeke Moses2 months ago

    Hmmmmm, things keep changing everyday

  • I remember them, too, the anticipation of the time when she would become the first female president of the United States of America because surely no one in their right mind would believe the hateful divisive crap the other guy was spewing (& still is). Yeah, I know, this comment probably belongs in the Swamp Community.

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    Oi. We all see doom and gloom. Does not auger much for our future. Still we hope for the best. I wish i saw no gloom, but it lingers near. Hope springs eternal.

  • Grz Colm3 months ago

    Good work Stephanie! 😊

  • Great take on this challenge. “ Things just aren’t what they used to be— I remember home-cooked meals Now subscription plan food is all we feel.” I loathe cooking, but when freedom of choice is taken away like this, I would miss the privilege of being able to do it.

  • Ugh, tell me about voting blunder! I feel it happens everywhere! Loved your take on this challenge!

  • Test3 months ago

    I feel this so much Stephanie, how did we get here? I just don't undertand x Really well written as always and so thought provoking 🤍

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    This is great. So much to love. The free speech/hate speech and the "voting blunder" really stood out and are completely true. Sadly. Excellent entry.

  • Real Poetic3 months ago

    "I remember free speech Without so much hate speech" Great Job!

  • Tressa Rose3 months ago

    Makes me sad to think of the scary possibilities of the future... Great job on this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.