Poets logo

I opened my eyes for the first time

to the truth. then I met you

By HufflecupPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I opened my eyes for the first time

to the real version of me

meeting you followed soon after

felt like my mind had found a home

my first genuine connection

I knew I wouldn't grow old alone

harsh realities coming to the surface

my first steps on a healing journey

you inspire me to be better

because I want to be good enough for you

surely you feel this too

my biggest flaw has always been a lack of patience

to love you

I have to learn this lesson

true love happens slowly

requires a lot of waiting

and you have to know the person cares

when they aren't physically there

love poemssurreal poetrylist
Like

About the Creator

Hufflecup

I want nothing more than to dedicate my life to writing, so I figured I would start here to test the waters. I will be submitting stories to as many communities as possible.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.