Poets logo

I Never Liked the Sun

I was the moon.

By Pearls A.Published 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

I never liked the sun. I never liked the way its light blinded my eyes. I never liked the way its scorching hot rays hit my face, my body. I never liked that it made the day, the busy day when everyone was out and about. I was never much of a sunrise person, it meant I'd have to trudge through the day, I was more into sunsets because it was when the sun and everyone else went to sleep and I was left alone with the whole quiet, abandoned world at my disposal.

I never liked the sun, not until I met him. He's the sun and I the moon. His smile radiates like the rays from the sun, blinding my eyes. But I, the moon, only took that and reflected his smile with mine. His laughter rings through my ears, runs through my body; like the sun's scorching hot rays, his laughter doesn't miss a single spot, and I, the moon, absorb his laughter and reflect it, the rays full of his laughter fill me with joy and life the way the sun fills the whole moon's surface with a beautiful bright glow. The night belongs to me, the moon. I remained dormant throughout the day, only waiting for the night, but he made me look forward to the busy, bustling day because it meant I'd get to see his radiance that generated me. I, the moon, needed him as to be able to shine so bright at night. I always looked forward to sunsets because it meant it was time for me, the moon, to shine; it mean the whole world would go to sleep, leaving the cold, beautiful and mysterious night all to myself. But I began to favor the sunrise, instead, because like him, the sun slowly shone its rays, slowly covering the world; everything began to stir and awaken, ready to take on the day; I'd awaken, eager to take on the day and see him, even if only just a ray for only a brief moment.

I never liked the sun, but ever since I met him, I always look forward to the slow ascension of those beautiful, bright sun rays as they slowly began to illuminate the sleepy world. His stupid insults like the hot, prickly sun rays, hitting me, my skin, but I don't mind them. His sweet, soft kisses like the sun on a cloudy day, lightly brushing on my skin ever so slightly.

I never liked the sun but sunsets took on a whole different meaning. I fell in love with the way day and night reached for each other, caressing each other ever so lightly, never more than fingertips apart, but never letting each other go. I loved the way they powered each other, they were each unique in their own way, both just as beautiful, but they both depended on each other because they were opposites; they complimented each other so perfectly. He and I, like the sun and moon, are so different yet so similar, maybe that's why I feel the way I do.

I never liked the sun, not until I understood what it meant to me and how essential it was. Without the sun, everything would be cold and dark, there would be no life, nothing would grow, everything would be a frozen wasteland. After getting a taste, I could not remember life before and could not imagine my life without the sun.

I never liked the sun, but now I can't get enough of it, even though it sometimes burns my skin, even though it sometimes blinds me, even though it makes me cranky, even though it means the start of a new day and being surrounded by a sea of people, even though it signifies the end of a beautiful rainy day, even though it brings an end to the gorgeous, starry and mysterious night.

Even through all those reasons, I still could not get enough of the sun.

I never liked the sun, not until I met him.

He's the sun and I the moon, opposites yet interdependent.

I never liked the sun yet he made me fall in love with it the way I fell for him.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.