Poets logo

I Never Learn

-

By Lisa HerdmanPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
4
Photo by Allan Mas

Brittle for the words Ms. Goleb cooed to me,

I was five years old and a muffin

crumbling under the wrapper

trying to keep polite eye contact but also

trying to tie my shoes.

/

She said something about a bunny and

I was too busy chewing dry lips and

turning over the little strings

too loose around my ankles

and refusing to connect properly.

/

Somewhere, in my eyes probably,

my heart was beating too fast,

my fingers on slippery cloth

fumbling the awkward length

into an attempted chokehold.

/

Her tongue clucked

and I risked a look away from her

to speed up the process

before she grabbed the “bunny ears”

and cinched them down on my foot

/

too tight.

performance poetry
4

About the Creator

Lisa Herdman

I'm learning to be wildly inappropriate, ridiculous, needy - and alive.

Thank you so much for all the support!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock12 months ago

    Didn't they always?!!!

  • Jay Kantor12 months ago

    Dahlink Lisa ~ You "Cinch-Up" my sense of humor! Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

  • Emelia Beam12 months ago

    Wow this was a fun and intense read I love your flow!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.