Poets logo

Driving Lessons

Sixteen on a Wednesday

By Lisa HerdmanPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
4
Driving Lessons
Photo by Matthew Henry on Unsplash

Wednesdays in the Midwest

were for tornadoes - well, drills, that is.

/

Walking backward with excitement,

I waved the paperwork in my hands,

showing my father the amount of practice

I was required to have before the state

would deem me road-safe.

/

I was rushing him,

grinding my tennis shoe in the rubble

in a particularly loud display of

“Hurry up, dad” and

“I love you” and

“Which foot pushes the brake?”

/

He was smiling, checking his shirt pocket,

and adjusting his glasses.

He wiped his hands in a thorough display of

“Look, no grease” and

“I love you” and

“When we get home I need to finish working on

your mom’s car or she will kill me, but it

might already be too late because I got grease

all over her front seat.”

/

I got in and stared out the window,

suddenly nervous with the wheel in front of me.

“You use one foot and alternate pedals,”

he offered, watching me closely.

I started the car (wow!), put it in gear

and inched us forward.

/

“Get used to the brak-”

I lurched us, cutting him off.

Tornado sirens blared around us.

/

We stared for a while

before looking at each other

and laughing,

his hand finding mine in a

reassuring squeeze that screamed

“Look at you go!” and

“I love you” and

“It’s Wednesday, right?”

performance poetryinspirational
4

About the Creator

Lisa Herdman

I'm learning to be wildly inappropriate, ridiculous, needy - and alive.

Thank you so much for all the support!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Dear Ms. Lisa ~ Simply you are always succinct - never feeling the need to over-explain; we all have memories of this. * My Twin and I were 1st in line at the D.M.V. on our 16th Birthday. Of Late the Newbies' TEST in their Mom's Self- Parking Cadillac's ~ Talk about a Big "Test"-Cheat-Sheet! - Thanks for the Memories - Jay P.S. ~ Do you think the Unique Pastor Randy Passed the "Test?" - Nah! -

  • Jay Kantor12 months ago

    Dear Lisa ~ Sweet to Leave in ~ What we often Leave out ! Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

  • When I was 15, my parents didn't teach me how to drive. They left that for Drivers' Ed. Once I had my license, mom offered to let me drive home from wherever we were out in the country. In Drivers' Ed, they emphasized favoring the shoulder to hugging the center line since whatever you hit if you went into the ditch would be at the speed you were going, not adding to it the speed of the other vehicle. Mom was terrified of shoulders & kept screaming at me to move toward the center. "Oncoming traffic will move over for you," she insisted as she tried to get me to take my half of the road out of the center. I argued with her. She became frantic & made me pull over & trade places. I don't think I ever drove anywhere with her in the vehicle after that. I'm really glad I took Drivers' Ed rather than learning to drive from her.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.