Poets logo

I Miss You

A Poem of Heartbreak

By Hannah PerezPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

The day that I ended things I tore myself apart.

I wrenched my heart from my mind,

And locked a part of myself into that box,

Where I also put the matching ring to the one you have.

It isn’t fair for me to hurt.

I know this and yet, I cannot stop it.

Every time I hear your name or picture your face,

The part that I have locked away for both of our own goods

rattles inside that box and threatens to break out

just like the tears that roll down my face.

Rationally, there is no reason for me to cry.

I am the one that broke it off, so some part of me must have wanted this.

However, I cannot find that part of me now.

Now, all there is, is a gaping hole from where I tried to detach myself from you.

Please understand,

when I said I wanted to be friends afterward I meant it then.

But I am not sure if I can be friends,

When every time you text me all my fingers want to type back is

I miss you please come back to me.

I dread the day when you find someone else to take my place.

In fact, I live in fear for the day when you find the perfect girl,

Who you were meant for because even though I want nothing for you but happiness,

At one point I thought that girl was me, and if it weren’t for the cruelty of fate it still would be.

I dread the day that I will see you in person again,

Because I know that on that day my heart will break,

And it will take everything I have to not breakdown then and tell you all I want to say.

My mind and my heart long for you,

I wish you were here with me again.

Come back to me.

Forever and Always.

I miss you.

I Love you.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Perez

Hannah Perez is currently a college student studying English and Music. She has been writing poetry and short stories since she was in Elementary school, and has never stopped. At her college, she is in a service fraternity Alpha Phi Omega.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.