Poets logo

I’m not an empath

But maybe I should be

By Beau GreenPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1

Our relationship

Was never real,

It was an idea

It was a fiction

It was a fantasy

That we created around lies

You said that you loved me

And I said I loved you back

But I didn’t

I lied to you

And I lied to myself

How could I let myself lie about something so dire?

About something so sensitive?

Part of that was true though

I did love you,

Platonically

Never romantically

But it's quite hard really,

To distinguish the two apart

It’s a dangerous game

Because you can’t just go around

Saying the L word

Which is the mistake I made

I did just that

I went around saying the L word

And I hurt you

And I didn’t even realize it

I was so unfazed by our breakup

That it made me realize

How much I had to force myself to like you

And how much you cared for me

So effortlessly

Like it came naturally to you

And I exploited that out of you

Which I will admit was wrong of me

But it felt wrong of you

To pile all of those big L feelings into me

It felt unnatural

It felt uncomfortable

And I let you pour your everything out

Only to watch it wash down the drain with ease

I stuck a knife through your full heart

And twisted it with a sick grin

Doing nothing but watch what was once

Become never again

I’m not an empath

I never understood how you could’ve liked me so much

And I still don’t

But I think that’s okay

Because you pushed me to become better

And I pushed you to find better

And we both got what we wanted in the end

We just did it,

In the worst way possible.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Beau Green

i have an uncurable illness called 'teenage emotions', and you all have to deal with it. sorry not sorry.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.