Poets logo

I'm Free

Co-written by AlphaBeharie

By Eagles Published 4 years ago 2 min read
3
Just like a sunflower, we'll take our time to bloom

It's hard to believe that after all this time,

They've finally broken down.

I can do so much more now,

Can see much more clearly,

Understand so much more.

It's funny, I spent so much of time wishing I could be this, and now that I am, it feels surreal.

I'm more aware of my surroundings.

I'm more comfortable with who I am.

I can do so much more with the newly found confidants I possess.

And this is who I was meant to be from the start.

I am meant to be this confident,

This energetic,

This cheerful.

And I know now, that it's all because of what has happened.

My mind was confined by manacles.

Stuck within myself like mannequins.

Painting lucid thoughts on the walls of my mind, like they're canvases.

Restrictions on the heart turns innocent souls into savages.

The pain helped me learn how to overcome all challenges.

I'm not scared anymore!

I own who I am.

I broke free from the bondage that the enemy put in my plan.

It has been a minute,

Now freedom is within the parameters of my vision.

I stand tall.

I broke free from the shell I was confined in,

By those that couldn't believe in me.

The crops are ripe,

Be wary of those you yield it with.

Too many times I was made to believe that "I am not enough" to receive the blessings I set out to achieve.

It's true... You are a product of the people around you.

I fell in love with being a hero.

Trying to save everyone, while disrespecting my pride and ego.

When they found their feet, it was all laughs.

And I know the Bible teaches us not to give and expect anything back,

But I gave everything I had and I just lost myself.

I helped you find yourself, then you made me watch you turn me into a a distant memory.

I cut myself open and bled, while hoping you would see me!!!

                                           ...

Thank you.

Unbeknownst to you,

I made it through.

I battled my demons,

I hold my scars high as proof.

I'm grateful you did what you wanted to,

Now I know what I want to do.

I'm Free.

It took a long time,

But it's finally done.

The walls that I'd put up, have come crumbling down.

The faith I'd lost, is crawling right back.

And the way I feel right now, is better than I've felt in all the years that have past.

I don't regret the things that I've done.

Not anymore.

I no longer resent people.

I know now that I'm here to make a better life for myself and those that I love.

Working on myself never stops, the rewards have started to pay off.

I hope to be better and I will continue to work on being a better ME.

Bettter than I'd ever thought that I would be.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Eagles

We write about the absolution of love and the dissolution of the soul. Poetry group comprising of the following poets;

Mackalan

Alpha Beharie

Marioson

Amy Void

Kimiera

Saveourscripts

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.