Poets logo

A Crimson Petal

Co-written by AlphaBeharie

By Eagles Published 4 years ago 2 min read
5

I always get asked the question about how I would describe myself.

"Outgoing"

"Energetic"

"Hopeful"

"Kind"

A bit on the crazy side ... Oh who am I kidding? I'm a lot on the crazy side, and just maybe very "conceited"

But I dont see why I can't be.

I know that I'm beautiful inside and out, but I've always wondered why you never let me show it...

It has taken me years to fathom the tragedy of holding you in my embrace. Allow me to elaborate;

I looked at you as my comfort and my muse

All you did was abuse the trust I put in you

Ignite the pyre within our chaotic feus

It's been years, I'm still broken and confused

Suffocated by memories that allude a better view

Broken mirrors can still come together with a pseudo glue...

I hate myself for drinking your sour jus

Admit that it was I that held us together, like a one man cabin crew 

It was all hands on deck, controlling me with your vindictive brew

Slashing my passions, until I was solely focused on you

It's been years...

I'm still not over what you put me through...

I decided after giving everything to you that I will no longer put myself second

I wear my favourite colour and I no longer second guess it

Embracing my sensuality, empowered and free

I look in the mirror,my body covered in a crimson glow and I picture your face disgusted with me

"You slut" "You whore" "You bitch"

I already know what you would say...

So I fix the wing on my eye

Put on some red lipstick and smile

I'll stand tall with my heels on

Turn to the side a little so my ass shows

Get the perfect angle

Show off the colour you saw as demeaning

I hope you watch me recreate it as empowering

I'm meant to be loved and respected

Not treated like your personal toy

I'm meant to be shown of

Not kept in your little box like an old doll

At one point I loved you... Only you.

You turned that love into hate

My feelings for you are gone

I'm finding myself

I know I will love me and treat me the way I deserve

You weren't a mistake in my life, but rather a lesson

And trust the lesson was well learnt

I'm happy now and I know I will be for a long time...

heartbreaklove poemsinspirational
5

About the Creator

Eagles

We write about the absolution of love and the dissolution of the soul. Poetry group comprising of the following poets;

Mackalan

Alpha Beharie

Marioson

Amy Void

Kimiera

Saveourscripts

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.