Poets logo

I Love You

Saying 'I Love You' for the first time...

By Sarah Maclin LyonsPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Photo by Ali Yahya on Unsplash

I like to think before I speak

This has been on my mind

For quite some time

But I’m worried how it’ll sound

So before I say it out loud

I stop

The grey bubble pops up

With a dot, dot, dot

The rest of this is

All in my thoughts

I love you

One of the hardest three words to say

In succession

To someone whose love

You aren’t entirely sure of

You question

Do they feel the same way?

If I say these three words

For the first time

What will happen

If you don’t say them back

My lifeline might just flatten

Not that my heart beats just for you

But you’ve added

That beep

That every so often peak

You’ve added that spike

To my life

I didn’t know

I’d been missing

Because with you

I feel alive

I think of you

At every sunrise

You’re the reason

I can’t wait to open my eyes

I know the sun

Wakes up the world

But waking up to you

Brings light to my world

I love you

I know this

I am so sure of this

Don’t ask me when exactly

I felt this

It’s just something I can’t dismiss

I would bet the rest of my life

On the certainty of it

I love your wit

Your humor that never quits

I love your smile

Your kindness

Your intelligence

Your sexiness is effortless

Your lips that know how to kiss

Your kisses

Send chills within me

When I let

Our memories sink in

Just remembering

Brings a certain tingling

Within

My love for you

A better drug

Than anything in a syringe

You make me forget

Old wounds, my love scars

I love you

I hope it’s not just me

I never want to know

What it’s like

To only have you as a memory

Our times

Are forever memorized

I’m mesmerized

Maybe you’ve got me hypnotized

If so, please don’t snap your fingers

Never ask me to wake up

Or open my eyes

I’ll never believe that any of this

Was a lie

This is how I feel about you

And now I’m ready to tell you

It’s time to lay my heart on the line

And finally speak my mind

So I have something to say

I love you

I don’t mean to put you on the spot

But

What are YOUR thoughts?

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Maclin Lyons

Storyteller, Poet and Content Creator. I just write what feels right.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.