Poets logo

I love me, I love me not

a confession

By Chloë J.Published 11 months ago 1 min read
20
I love me, I love me not
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

I am younger than I think

and older than I want to be,

sadder than I was,

and wiser than I used to be.

I’m acquainted now with pain,

but more naive than one would think-

free, as blows the wind,

but caged in perpetuity.

I clasp my hands with fear,

yet face my fate courageously.

Inebriated by joy,

but fatalistic, I can be;

ruled by apathetic shame,

yet fervently vibrant, roiling sea.

I romanticize my coffee,

yet doubt romance is something I will see.

A mass of contradictions,

I writhe in painful discordancy,

reaching for the light,

but blinded by the darkness,

which is all I now see.

fact or fiction
20

About the Creator

Chloë J.

Probably not as funny as I think I am

Insta @chloe_j_writes

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • PS Luvell8 months ago

    I think you have such an interesting and unique mind. Going to follow.

  • Poppy 10 months ago

    This was so relatable and well written

  • Phil Flannery10 months ago

    That was so powerful. I am so glad Paul Stewart highlighted this piece. I will make an effort to red more

  • C. H. Richard10 months ago

    I agree with Dana, the first two lines pulled me in. It reminds of the start of the day how life can be so overwhelming yet we still just move forward. ❤️

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Well, you exposed me in the first two lines. It just got better from there. Fantastic!

  • Sara 10 months ago

    I sometimes feel like a living contradiction. Thank you, I love this ♡

  • Where I live (but with a little more optimism than I have).

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Beautiful piece.

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Ah, how did I miss this one, Chloe!? This is spectacular. I adore all the contradictions, and that line, as Kendall says below, "I romanticize my coffee, yet doubt romance is something I will see." has a touch of surrealism, but also is a bit of a gut punch too! Love it!

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    This will stick with me, esp. with lines like 'I romanticize my coffee' (who doesn't). Thank you for this one.

  • Brenton F11 months ago

    Hooked from the second line and then it just got better. This was a sad joy to read.

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    Amazing rhymes, holy shit. Also, I relate to many of the emotions you present here, the contradictions, the back and forthing of loving myself and hating myself. These lines: “Inebriated by joy / but fatalistic I can be; / ruled by apathetic shame” Just describes my whole internal landscape.

  • Rob Angeli11 months ago

    Excellent work, like a thunderbolt of inner turmoil. Then darkness.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.