Poets logo

I'll Plant My Own Orange Tree

A free-verse poem about pleasing myself and not waiting for someone to please me

By Talia DevoraPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
4
I'll Plant My Own Orange Tree
Photo by Philippe Gauthier on Unsplash

I'll plant my own orange tree

with my own little hands and feet

It's too long to wait

for someone to buy me oranges

********

I'll find a secret spot

in the middle of my yard

I'll get a watering can, seeds, a hose

a rake and farmer's clothes to wear

********

I'll plant my own orange tree

while I've the chance to do so

Time is ticking

I need to hurry up

********

It's planted, fed and watered

the tree is growing and growing

It touches the sky

and greets the clouds and sun

********

I'll plant my own orange tree

with my own little hands and feet

I'll stand in front of the tree

and remind myself to be happy

By Y S on Unsplash

In literature, the orange tree represents multiple things like happiness, strength, knowledge, wisdom, longevity and many more to think of. Just throwing that out there for you!

Thank you so much for taking the time to read my poem about how I can make myself happy without depending on another person. I believe that life is too short and precious to ruin it by pleasing others. I hope you were inspired by this poem. If you enjoyed reading it, please give it a ❤️, share it with others and don’t hesitate to send me a tip to show your support, appreciation and interest. To read more of my Vocal poems, stories and articles, subscribe to me and visit my public profile at any time. Please feel free to follow and connect with me on Instagram. Be happy and I wish you all the best!

PS: To read more about the orange tree and what it represents, please click on the link below!

IG Account: @naturalbibliophile22

By Victoria Chen on Unsplash

#happiness #liveyourlife #learnandgrow #focusonthegood #loveyourselves #beunique #orangetree #symbolism

inspirational
4

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Lovely!!!💖💕

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Love this, and it's so true.

  • Wow Talia I wasn't subscribed yet! I can't believe it! I just subscribed! I saw you share this on Facebook! It's really amazing! I love the epitaph at the end, I love those information bits ☺️😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.