Poets logo

I Left My Heart in Italy

An ode to 'La Dolce Vita'

By Crystal A. WolfePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Photo by Pixabay from Pexels: https://www.pexels.com/photo/boats-and-body-of-water-417344/

I needed an escape,

a refuge, and a retreat.

I didn't know what to do

because I felt incomplete.

.

I survived COVID,

a major surgery, and tremendous heartache,

but it was with the death of my father

when I felt my life quake.

.

I wanted to go far away

and didn't care about the cost.

I needed the pain to abate

to get away from the loss.

.

I retreated to Italy with my mother,

who had her own emotional conflicts.

However, she kept them to herself,

so I could focus on the memories I had abolished.

.

During the day, I cast a smile.

My travel buddies never knew,

that I was letting a heartbreak heal,

although I still felt blue.

.

Despite their efforts to comfort me,

Italy healed my heart.

With its love and culture,

I didn't want to part.

.

I listened to the Amalfi Coast bells,

and sailed to Capri too.

Walking the streets of Pompeii,

I suddenly became unglued.

.

I realized my life was a blip in time,

and nothing to take for granted.

The threads of history are woven deep,

but here, my soul feels enchanted.

.

Italy taught me "La Dolce Vita."

which means "Live the sweet life."

Today, I hold that meaning dear,

no matter life's strife.

.

If you like this story, consider giving these poems a read! 👇

Hearts ❤️ and tips ️💸 are always welcome and much appreciated as they help support my writing! 🙏

heartbreak
3

About the Creator

Crystal A. Wolfe

Blogger | Creative Writer | Traveler | Full-Time RVer

You can find all of my articles on my blog as well on Medium where I'm most active in Humor, Lifestyle, and Travel. I've self-published one fantasy fiction with the sequel in the works.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise Larkin2 years ago

    Beautiful poetry. I have never been to Italy but now I want to go there.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.