Poets logo

I Leave With Grace

It’s the circle of life

By Colleen Millsteed Published 28 days ago 2 min read
Top Story - April 2024
20
Image courtesy of Pixabay

Acceptance is not necessarily within the definition of defeat,

Or so I’ve discovered in recent years,

I’ve grown to learn the lessons you sent my way,

And I’ve had to work my way through my regrets and fears.

**

Lately I’ve been asking myself if I’d like it to change,

And although I fought to keep the status quo,

I grieved the loss, lived the pain,

And believed it was devastating to see you go.

**

But I’ve grown to realise I am okay with your decision,

And no, I don’t want it changed or fixed in any way,

Our time has come, you’ve flown the coop,

And I’ve truly no more that I want to say.

**

So your silence over another holiday weekend meant for family,

Wasn’t as hard to live through as in the past,

You’ve taught me how to live my life without you,

And the loaded die has now been cast.

**

My job has been fulfilled, I taught you independence,

I gave you my strength to walk away,

I instilled your confidence to overcome adversity,

And ensured that without me, you’ll be okay.

**

I’ll quietly disappear now, it’s my final gift,

I’ve accepted the break, the ties now cut,

I feel guilty when I realise I’ve gained my newfound peace,

As more often than not you were a pain in the butt.

**

As the circle of life continues to spin,

You’re about to undergo the stage I endured for years,

And I can only hope and pray it’s an easier transition,

One in which you don’t experience my flood of tears.

**

Although I feel you’ll come to finally understand,

Because trust me, karma does indeed bite,

But you’re now on your own — your personal choice,

And I’m now happily bowing out of this fight.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

inspirational
20

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK 23 days ago

    I feel really sad, perhaps distraught as a mother watching from the side lines as my cherished young adult flounders. I can't do anything but tell her I love her. That's where your poem led my mind.

  • Congratulations on the top story.

  • Anna 25 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Ameer Bibi25 days ago

    Congratulations 🎉🎉 for top story beautifully well expressed , so relatable not fictional

  • Shirley Belk25 days ago

    Life...kids...yep, pains in butts for sure! Thank you for your vulnerability and expression of it.

  • Kendall Defoe 26 days ago

    I quite like this...

  • angela hepworth26 days ago

    Beautiful and raw and so relatable. Live in your peace!

  • Dana Crandell26 days ago

    Well expressed, Colleen! Unfortunately, there can be several stages of this. I don't know if my eldest, nearly 50 now, and I will ever really talk again.

  • Cathy holmes26 days ago

    Though I think it's a terribly sad situation, I'm happy that you're able to find peace. Amazing words, my friend. Congrats on the TS.

  • Judey Kalchik 26 days ago

    I’m so sorry. This is where I am now, too. Thank you for giving this voice.

  • JBaz26 days ago

    Gut wrenchingly beautiful. You managed to capture your feelings and set them to words that tugged on our heart.

  • Mariann Carroll28 days ago

    I write poem to get an understanding of acceptance of life path and stages. It’s not easy letting go as a parent. We will always think of our children as our baby. If children can let go of our apron to start their own cycle of life. I like this line in your poem : “Because trust me, karma does indeed bite,”

  • You may be nice enough to not want him to experience the flood of tears you did. But I'm not. I wish he experiences that and more for doing that to you. Told ya I'm petty af 🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • I take it there was nothing over Easter, either. I had some hopes things might change when he did show up that one time recently.

  • Joe Patterson28 days ago

    Now this is quality writing.

  • Babs Iverson28 days ago

    Brilliant & motivational!!! Loving it!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.