Poets logo

I have seen roses bleed red

Para Cecilia

By Conrad IlesiaPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
2

I

I have seen roses bleed red and

The truest hearts beaten blue but

To myself I remain true

(Or try to).

You stood beside my attempts,

Accepted my delicate pretense.

I have seen roses bleed red and

Beaten violets turn blue but

One thing I know is true:

(This I will keep to the end)

I have the truest friend;

And so do you.

II

I saw her blood

Under a defective street light

On a misty Denver night

As she was hugging me—

Wanting a reaction,

A demanded interaction,

Some human emotion but

I was alone,

An Egyptian stone.

I have seen love betrayed,

Played the role of the confessor;

I have watched compassion fade away

And leave its remnants for another day;

I have seen roses bleed red and

I don’t want to see it again.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Conrad Ilesia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Conrad Ilesia is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.