Poets logo

I Have Not Had Trouble Sleeping In Years

My husband gets 6 hours of sleep most nights, in shifts, while I get 7 or eight straight until recently, bringing me to tears!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
I Have Not Had Trouble Sleeping In Years
Photo by elizabeth lies on Unsplash

Oh no

I don’t want this to be so

what can I do

to not be blue

sail away to dreamland

watch for a marching band

see how you can get without sleep

I want to weep

it hasn’t been long

hear my song

aging is getting to me

and I don’t want to see

that it happens to most

hubby is one to boast

about my sleeping for twelve hours

not since my teens, I could sleep in showers

I could sleep anywhere

it was not 12, really eight hours where

now it is seven and I didn’t like going there

getting up to go to the bathroom when

that never happened then

getting less and less rest

last night was only a test

to see how I may be

only sleeping for three

okay I will admit it was six instead

and I’m going back to bed!

****

Published first Mercury Press on Medium

performance poetry
3

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred2 years ago

    I am there with you Denise , great lines

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.