Poets logo

Life In My Skin

And what that means to me in the 68 years of others that are akin

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
9
Life In My Skin
Photo by Dan Morris on Unsplash

As small children

you were there

a cousin or two

as grandchildren

you are here

I love you Boo

****

In my job

I was told by Bob

you are not friendly

A friend said, "Really?

Get rainbows!"

Is it as simple as those?

"And by the way, you are a definite ally!

Count us glbtqa+ on your friend's list silly"

****

I get the fallout

I want to bailout

I see it on FaceBook

I could write a book

It is so similar to racism

I have experienced that and sexism

Then there is agism

****

As an old woman

I don't want to hear a man

or anyone spewing hate

it shouldn't be my fate

Maybe it's too late

to see a big change in my lifetime

reversing roe v wade, it's only time

for more reversal, it is such a crime

and I'll bet you more than a dime

****

social commentary
9

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    This was very powerful! Loved it!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Wonderfully said.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Denise, your fantastic poem capsulizes the truth and reality of past and current events. Well done!

  • Caroline Jane2 years ago

    Feels like the world.is unravelling. ❤

  • Gerald Holmes2 years ago

    Well done. I hear you, Roe V Wade is just the beginning.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.