Poets logo

I Don’t Need You

(To be wanted)

By Lucia B.Published 10 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
1
I Don’t Need You
Photo by Laura Vinck on Unsplash

Do you think I need you?

I don’t

And please don’t say you need me

To live

To breathe

You don’t need me like the air you breathe

Or the food you eat

You don’t need me to think

You don’t need me to see

You have your own lungs

Your own mind and eyes

You’re lying if you say it’s on me you rely

And I’d rather hear a million truths

Hard and cruel and terrible

Than a lie

Though it be beautiful

Gentle

And I won’t say that I need you

Not to live or breathe or think or see

It just couldn’t be a reality

And I won’t be so dramatic as that

But ah

Tell me that you want me

A need is not chosen

But a desire always is

Tell me I make your heart beat faster

And time move slower

Tell me I am a wildfire

Consuming

Tell me I am the sea

Alluring

Tell me I am the sand

On a lazy afternoon

And the moon

In the depths of night

And the stars

That shine so bright

To sparkle in your eyes

Yes tell me I live in your eyes

Because I live in yours

Like the tides upon the shore

I linger

love poems
1

About the Creator

Lucia B.

Poet

Novelist

Linguist & Aspiring Polyglot

Bibliophile

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Zara Blume6 months ago

    This is powerful! The need to be needed keeps most from ever being desired. I love the way you denounced codependency while demanding adoration.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.