Poets logo

I don’t know how to tell you

i don’t do so well when the darkness engulfs me

By Ava Myers Published about a year ago 1 min read
Like
I don’t know how to tell you
Photo by Alexander Krivitskiy on Unsplash

I don’t know how to tell you

But

I don’t do so well

When the darkness engulfs me

Like flames licking at the

Alter of a church

Doused in diesel.

I don’t think I can tell you

But

I’m struggling

With every breath I take

Into these hollow lungs that

Lay in my aching rib cage -

Already sick of protecting them

And their unwanted oxygen.

I don’t want you to know

But

I feel broken

In the most literal sense of the word -

I feel physically torn apart

By everything and everyone

But most of all by myself

And all my expectations.

I’m heartbroken to tell you

But

I feel unlovable

And utterly unwanted

And only worth as much as my body

That’s been used almost as much

As my mind.

And I think you already know

But…

I love you

With every fiber of my broken heart

And I’m terrified

That you’ll be the death of me

Because you don’t feel the same

And if you did, I wouldn’t deserve it.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ava Myers

I write because my pens give me no other choice.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.