Poets logo

I

internalize isolation

By Sonia Heidi UnruhPublished about a year ago β€’ Updated about a year ago β€’ 1 min read
13
Photo by Michael Dziedzic on Unsplash (retouched)

I'm introduced

'

I'm interested

intrigued

infatuated

I idealize

idolize

'

I

invite interaction

induce ingratiation

initiate intimacy

'

illusory idol is

indifferent

I'm ignored

insolence

is inexcusable

invisibility

is intolerable

I insist

I implore

I'm insulted

I'm infuriated

'

initial instinct:

insults

...insensitive imbecile

...ignorant ingrate

...insufferable idiot

...

impact is

insubstantial

I

implode

'

I'm idiotic

I'm infantile

I'm impaired

imbalanced

immature

incapable

insignificant

inadequate

inadequate

inadequate

'

I'm

ill

incurable

inconsolable

irreversibly injured

'

I

indulge in

intermission

introspective interlude

'

I

intuit issues

inquire inwardly

infer implications

'

I

illuminate

internalized insignificance

identify

ingrained inferiority

inaccurate interpretations

'

inspiration

inching into

improvement

I

improve

I've improved

I'm independent

'

independence

is isolating

I'm

incomplete

'

imagine

if

instead I

invited

interdependence

"

'

"

This started out to be an entry to the tautogram challenge. After a missed deadline, I decided (thanks to an encouraging Vocal community!) to finish and share the poem anyway. Thanks for reading.

Another tautogram:

heartbreakinspirational
13

About the Creator

Sonia Heidi Unruh

I love: my husband and children; all who claim me as family or friend; the first bite of chocolate; the last blue before sunset; solving puzzles; stroking cats; finding myself by writing; losing myself in reading; the Creator who is love.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 9 months ago

    Wow, this is incredibly clever and must've taken so much talent to write it. Very well done

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Wow. This is great. Really well done.

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ˜πŸ˜πŸ”₯This poem was on fire the whole way through. I almost forgot it was a tautogram because the flow was that good. I’m glad this was shared. Well done, Sonia.

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Loved it!!!β€οΈβ€οΈπŸ’•

  • Wow. Hooked me half way into the poem, left me wanting more at the end. Very cool.

  • I'm interested, intrigued, identity-crisis induced, identifying, idolizing.... You get the idea. Great work, Sonia.

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    A real work of art, and a winner in my book.

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    Wowwww. This was way longer than I thought possible! And I can’t believe how much I relate to the emotions tied to your words here. The self insults, the faulty beliefs about myself, the tirade of self talk that, whether it be damaging or benign, is still self absorption and therefore not ideal nor optimal. I’m going to reread this. So so glad you shared it! ❀️

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    So glad you finished this! There was a completeness to this and the emotion you expressed with just I-words was impressive!

  • R. J. Raniabout a year ago

    Sonia, I'm so glad you completed this tautogram and shared it anyway. I love how you tell the story of growth and pain and redemption and power through the words and the structure. You've given us a gift. Thank you πŸ₯°

  • From introduction to flirtations rebuffed, hurt, internalizing worthlessness, reflection, healing, re-embracing the possibility of love. I am so glad you finished this & shared it with us, Sonia. To echo Quincy, you have written of heartbreak & healing with such grace. Thank you.

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    written gracefully...

  • Ward Norcuttabout a year ago

    Great ending

  • ❀️

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Wow. A complete evolution. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.