Poets logo

I Can Almost Love You When I Sing

A Poem of Love Undone

By Rachel Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I can almost love you when I sing

When I look at you now all I see,

Are the things that once made us we.

The bitter ends of a knot undone,

So loose now they barely cling.

But, I can almost love you when I sing.

I showed you how to reach the depths of me,

But you barely explored my shameless sea.

A place where two should be one,

I was left aloft on out-stretched wing.

Yet, I can almost love you when I sing.

A heart full with things that could be,

But I can’t feel you, I can only sense me.

By crashing waves my dreams are spun,

My abyss no longer your deep wellspring.

Still, I can almost love you when I sing.

A past with you, a future for me,

No more to ask, to hope, to plea.

At the breaking of my scarlet sun,

My long-muted brilliance at last will ring.

I stopped love you when I sing.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Rachel

Founder and CEO of a start up, homeschool teacher, military spouse, and writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.