Poets logo

I Barely Survived a Cold

A.H. Mittelman

By Alex H Mittelman Published 4 days ago 2 min read
I Barely Survived a Cold
Photo by Kristine Wook on Unsplash

I've been wallowing in a pit of mucus-filled misery and despair, battling a cold that seemed to have been sent straight from the depths of hell. But lo and behold, the tides have turned, and I've emerged from the abyss, slightly less snotty and with a renewed hope for brighter days ahead! I barley survived!

The battle was long and hard-fought. Each sneeze felt like a thunderous explosion, a nuclear snot filled bomb echoing through my cavernous sinuses. My nose, once a proud and noble feature, had transformed into a leaky faucet of misery, an endless stream of green goo and despair.

I was alone in my fight, save for the company of a box of tissues and a bottle of cough syrup, my trusty allies in this mucus-filled war. But as the sun rose on the seventh day, a glimmer of hope shone through the fog of sickness. My cough subsided, my sneezes lessened, and the river of snot slowed to a trickle.

I had emerged victorious, though not unscathed. My nose, raw and chapped, bore the scars of battle. My lungs, once filled with the phlegm of defeat, now breathed the sweet air of recovery.

Yes, I had survived, but just barely. And though the road ahead may still be lined with sniffles and sneezes, I march on, a survivor of the Great Mucus War of 2024.

With all the grace of a sloth, I heaved myself from the grasp of my bed sheets, still feeling the aftermath of the sickness. My body, drenched in sweat, begged for a refreshing bath. I desperately needed the shower's cleansing waters. But as my feet touched the ground and I took my first wobbly steps towards my shower, a sudden rumbling in the depths of my gut signaled the grand exodus of my lunch, which exited before I had a chance to reach the bathroom. I took a deep breath and eventually, finally made it to my bath.

I finished, dried off and walked back into my room. The mess I made was still all over the floor. I laid back down, and if the cats didn’t get to the mess on the floor first, I’d clean the carpet in the morning.

Request Feedbacksad poetryMental HealthinspirationalFor FunBallad

About the Creator

Alex H Mittelman

I love writing and just finished my first novel. Writing since I was nine. I’m on the autism spectrum but that doesn’t stop me! If you like my stories, click the heart, leave a comment. Link to book: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CQZVM6WJ

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Katarzyna Popiel3 days ago

    So this is what the 'man flu' is like! A terrible ordeal indeed!

  • Oh no, I'm so sorry you've not been feeling well 🥺 Hope you feel better soon. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Lamar Wiggins3 days ago

    'My nose, once a proud and noble feature, had transformed into a leaky faucet of misery' --- Lol, but seriously, that was a great description of how it really is. Glad to hear the battle is coming to an end. Great work, Alex!

  • Tiffany Gordon 4 days ago

    Superbly written! So glad that you are feeling better!

  • shanmuga priya4 days ago

    The words "nuclear snot bomb" to the "Great Mucus War of 2024," your poetic prowess knows no bounds...... truly captivating words....I wish you win the battle.......

  • Lana V Lynx4 days ago

    That was pretty graphic, Alex. I'm glad you are feeling better and hope you recover completely soon.

Alex H Mittelman Written by Alex H Mittelman

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.