Poets logo

I am

By The Invisible WriterPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
14
I am
Photo by Katleen Vanacker on Unsplash

I am a lost soul

begging for change at stop lights

holding cardboard signs

written with pain

I am a wealthy fool

filling lies with gold

hold my hand, dear

my greed hurts

I am a leading politician

begging for votes

proclaiming promises

of better days

that never come

I am a shallow philanthropist

look at me

covering my sins

with my good

I am a day dreamer

lying under

casual blue skies

floating helplessly

in passing clouds

I am a sad song

sung by people

who never listened

to me

I am a forgotten life

a ghost who vanished

day by day

from memories

I am a calling voice

gathering, protesting

speaking out, screaming loud

CHANGE THE WORLD

right here, right now

I am a jailed prisoner

swearing innocence

hating systems

deflecting blame

I am a hurting victim

crying in corners

pounding my fists

against walls

unable to be

who I was

I am a young child

full of life

laughing, smiling

playing happily

on summer days

I am a falling tear

slipping from a cheek

I am a deep wound

open and bleeding

I am a disfigured scar

old and healed

I am a cautionary tale

filled with skeletons

I am everything above

I am nothing all the same...

social commentary
14

About the Creator

The Invisible Writer

"Poetry is what happens when nothing else can"

Charles Bukowski

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    I'm not sure why but this poem brought to mind this song: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CUjIY_XxF1g I'm sure you've heard it before!! Anyways, this was so powerful and such a great message! Great work Will!!

  • J. Delaney-Howeabout a year ago

    Very powerfully written. Well done!

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Very impressive! Such power & depth! Awesome work! 😊

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    So thoughtfully written and full of truths that we need to remember. Really well done :)

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Strong and powerful. Well written.

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    I love the way everything from social commentary to real life is covered in this poem.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    So much truth in this poem, beautifully worded. Thank you so much for sharing!

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Thanks for bringing this piece to life. So many things go unsaid. So much to realize... This work not only gives perspective, but it also dares you to confront your own inner turmoil. Hearted this one for sure!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Realism in your words, so carefully chosen to stir emotion. I connected with this instantly. Really fantastic work.

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    A poem, a cry for everyone to see, to hear, to care. Has the world of people sunken too far to be saved. Can we see and care for one another again. The answer is quite scary. Hope springs eternal. Great poem. Subscribed and hearted.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.