Poets logo

Goodnight sweet heart

By The Invisible WriterPublished about a year ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
1
Goodnight sweet heart
Photo by Elvis Bekmanis on Unsplash

I am winter's breath nipping at your heal

Evil whisper calling, my dear

Forbidden fruit, tempting

Tendrils of demons, stretching

Dark desires, stalking in the night

Ghosts, floating in the shadows

I am the sandman's touch

bristling the hairs on your neck

A prince, for a pauper

A kiss, for a goodnight

A song before bed

Don’t be afraid, my child

I am just a nightmare

Entering your dreams

A monster dancing in your sleep

A terror haunting you in the dark

Wake up, child

Before you die of fright

Open your eyes,

Who’s there?

A creature, a beast

Shhhhh, quiet now

keep your scream

In the hollow of your throat

I am only a demon

Crawling in the night

Coming

To take flesh from bone

Savor the fear, my darling

It tastes sweet

When I take you away

love poems
1

About the Creator

The Invisible Writer

"Poetry is what happens when nothing else can"

Charles Bukowski

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    Will, this is such a haunting piece! It feels intense and such a perfect poem for Halloween!! I don't think it was written for Halloween, but it seems fitting for today! I also enjoyed the pacing and your word choices!! Nicely done Will!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.