Poets logo

I Am a Writer, Not a Baker

Reality Strikes

By KJ AartilaPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
13
I Am a Writer, Not a Baker
Photo by Kim Daniels on Unsplash

My life started humbly to fall apart,

when my writing refused to do it’s part,

“You can’t make money from written art.”

***

So instead of defeat, feeling not very smart,

I took a run to the closest Wal-mart

for supplies to try making different art.

***

Maybe I could bake, to start

I prepare a recipe for a fancy tart,

being a “foodie” is a very fine art.

***

My tart crumbled - it fell apart.

Guess it’s time to face my part,

working with food is not my art.

--------------------------------------------

Now I must start over again,

I have everything to gain,

if, I decide, I'm all in.

***

I open my laptop to befriend,

writing right now is not my friend,

but maybe fine Frenemies in the end.

-----------------------------------------------

My attempt at a new poetic form called “Diminishing Verse” introduced by Dharsheena Raja Segarran (I took liberties.)

inspirationalhumor
13

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Great piece whimsical and fun. Very nice 😊

  • Thavien Yliasterabout a year ago

    Hence there will always be more people that enjoy food than there will be people that can cook food. Well, thankfully that way there won't be too many chefs in the kitchen.

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Very good!

  • You executed this perfectly! I loved it! Thank you so much for the shoutout! 🥰

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    Excellent. I think you nailed it.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Oooh nicely done!! I might have to try one of these haha

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Aw, I love this! You tried something new with the tarts 🤗 Writing will always be here for us--even when it doesn't act very nice--it will always come back! You did such a great job with this style, this was a fun and relatable read!! ❤️❤️

  • Great job and I get the message ❤️😉

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Oh, I see what you did there. Well done, indeed.

  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    Oooh nice one! This is a form I haven't tried yet... Feel a bit askeerd of it if I'm honest 😁 Tiny typo "it's ime"

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    This is awesome, Keila! Very funny! Nice work! :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.