Poets logo

I am a Dinosaur

Old and prehistoric

By The Invisible WriterPublished 28 days ago 1 min read
I am a Dinosaur
Photo by Marco Chilese on Unsplash

I am a Dinosaur

Old and dated

Worn and weathered

My time spreads like dust

Falling on a map of years

Stretched in creased lines

Across sun-leathered skin

Dying, forgotten fossils

Lie deep in the color of my eyes

Ghosts dance from yesterday's songs

On the tips of waves in hazel oceans

Flaked by shadows of darker brown

Ancient river beds run dry

Through my center with

Reminders of sunrises gone

Faded newspaper stories

Printed in black ink

Cover this aging soul

Tales of my youth swirl

With the rhythm of days

From before the dinosaurs

Came and made me one

Of their own

When dreams still unfolded

When one day seemed far away

When life was fleeting

When each moment

Didn't have to be cherished

I am a Dinosaur

Obsolete and outdated

Forgotten and relegated

With only single truths left

Wisdom flows in the sludge of these veins

Knowing resides in the gravel of this voice

History lives in the sandpaper of these hands

Strength remains in the bones of this body

I am a Dinosaur

Stubborn and unbending

Prehistoric and archaic

Free Verse

About the Creator

The Invisible Writer

"Poetry is what happens when nothing else can"

Charles Bukowski

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Babs Iverson18 days ago

    Awesome!!! Relatable and loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • It is top notched!

  • Shirley Belk25 days ago

    Nailed it!!!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)25 days ago

    Will this is such a wonderfully clever but also somber take on the dinosaur challenge!! I love what you did here and how realistic it feels!! Great work my friend!!

  • Excellent and so well written … loved it!

  • Oooo, this was so poignant and profound. Loved it so much!

  • ThatWriterWoman27 days ago

    'Dying, forgotten fossils Lie deep in the color of my eyes' What an EXCELLENT line! Well done!

  • Excellent work and I love the Bukowski quote (though it's not part of the poem)

  • shanmuga priya28 days ago

    It's interesting to read your work.

The Invisible WriterWritten by The Invisible Writer

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.