Poets logo

hypothalamus Puncture

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
5

you left a very deep impression of a black hole

On the structure of my brain

Unfolding fast, teeter-tottering to my homeostasis,

Dismal results in a black box that appears to be empty

But full of misinformation and false positives.

Like a helium balloon slowly dying from the pores empty space letting out the atmosphere,

You put a similar strain on me,

A hypothalamus Puncture,

And I am slowly learning my death is inevitable.

You teased me with a love that was never going to happen, then denied it was ever there

You broke open my mind and whispered lemon battered promises

Over time, the puncture you left in my love center of the brain spilled like a festering sore that opened and spread into my lungs

And you tore into it so hard and so violently

There was nothing left but numbness

But I still love, despite your lack of empathy

In my agony

What will you tell others?

Will you tell them how I tried so hard to fix what you had destroyed?

Will you lie and tell them I was cruel to share my secrets and joys and pain to you,

My heart was your inconvenience,

And you blew it into a deep part of cataclysm, a dead place of shame

Will you smile when you truly evoked such a beautiful feeling of torment

A squeaking sound you pretend not to hear.

A squirming mass you pretend not to feel

Eating away at my heartstrings,

That you knotted in an attempt to stave off affection and trust, a noose

You were ready to give me like a false present.

heartbreak
5

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous will be published by Eukalypto

& Atonement will be released this August by JMS Books

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman7 months ago

    This is so vivid and raw! Outstanding work!

  • A glioblastoma on the brain. Nasty buggers. Never known of one to be cured or go into remission.

  • You teased me with a love that was never going to happen, then denied it was ever there You broke open my mind and whispered lemon battered promises These lines hit me so hard! Your whole poem was so relatable and heartbreaking! I loved it!

  • -Trust a noose ♥️🥹💯📝👍Great job on this❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.