Poets logo

Hungry, Still

Diary of a Syrian American

By Hazel SPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - August 2022
103

Hungry, Still

My parents are living in their dream house now

with trees as far as the eyes can see

A quiet, peaceful neighborhood with nowhere to go

and from no one to flee

We’re all educated now

Never speaking English at home

But we’re educated now, paying off these student loans

We’ve got healthcare now

Never worried about getting ill

There’s no prescription on Earth that my doctors can’t fill

We’ve got our human rights now

Happily taking what we were given before

But here, in this country, I’m allowed to fight for more

I have freedom now

Freedom to move and freedom to grow

Freedom to reap all that I did not sow

I support my family now

Sending aid to the Motherland

Holding the New World in one, and Old World in the other hand

I travel often now

Costa Rica, Bali, Malta- all know my name

I knew to play Chess during a Checkers game

Everyone likes me now

Invited to all the cool parties and all the cool dates

Of all the quantum possibilities, I’m kinda glad this is my fate

The Parade is over now

Five-star restaurant and I foot the bill

Ordered everything on the menu and, somehow,

I’m hungry, still.

surreal poetry
103

About the Creator

Hazel S

The current of words that flow through a Syrian-American woman. A conduit of subjective Truth.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Beautiful! The last line took it home! Great work!

  • Ash Taylor2 years ago

    loved this

  • Toby Heward2 years ago

    Keep up the good work. Here's a little something if you have the time. https://vocal.media/poets/jingelo-grum

  • Julie Cicco2 years ago

    The end though! Nice work :)

  • Those last two lines... gut punch! Well done! Love this piece

  • Michaell Brawn2 years ago

    Great article

  • Sidney Smith2 years ago

    Wow this is amazing!!

  • malik zahoor2 years ago

    Lovely

  • Jay,when I write2 years ago

    Beautiful and heartfelt. Love the 2 ending lines

  • AbbieDrew2 years ago

    I really enjoyed reading this, I love the way your words flow. It felt so nice reading it but the message was heavy and deep. Outstanding job!

  • Maervel2 years ago

    Lovely! I enjoyed reading it.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Kamran Mehmood 2 years ago

    "A quiet, peaceful neighborhood with nowhere to go" it is one of the our dream as well because peaceful neighbor is one of the blessing. BTW nice work and excellent write up.

  • good

  • Alexis Creamer2 years ago

    “Of all the quantum possibilities, I’m kinda glad this is my fate.” An amazing line. An all together strong poem. As a woman of color I resonate.

  • Molly Marjorie2 years ago

    Beautiful poem, and that ending is fantastic. As a teacher of immigrants and refugees, I would like to share this with my students.

  • 希哥2 years ago

    牛啊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.