Fiction logo

Deafening

Screams of Souls not Found

By Hazel SPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. It’s been five generations since our species lost the ability to hear. I’ve done all the research and downloaded all the knowledge there is to download about what it means to “hear”. Screams aren’t regular frequencies. Since we moved up here, humans have evolved past the need for ears and strictly communicate via vibration. So, when I heard that scream, I knew Society would have me thrown in the cellar for “inspection”. To be honest, I don’t know what I knew- I just know how I feel. Being an Intuitive Vibrissa is not as prestigious as it sounds. We can't just turn our feelings off like the rest of the district. Oh, that scream could curdle blood! I haven’t been able to sleep or eat in four days. It keeps scratching at the walls of my mind, on replay, like a broken record.

Society can’t organize information that’s communicated via the written word, which is why I am writing you this letter, Jax. My dearest and truest friend, something is very, very wrong. Purportedly, the frequency of fear should not able to penetrate the atmosphere of space- so tell me why I have been in a state of constant terror? This isn’t supposed to be happening. Society told us since the first minute humans left Earth that we will fear no more. I do not believe them. Jax, I am petrified. I appear to be the only one capable of “hearing”, the only one capable of “fearing”...

I wish I could string together the words to describe this feeling to you. I can’t even share the vibration because, technically, it does not exist within this vacuum of space. It’s this pit-in-your-stomach feeling dragging me down, down, d o w n. I feel so heavy. Ossified. Chills down my spine, stinging my bones. By the time you read this letter, I will be on my way to the cellar. Lugging this meat suit like a dead horse. I must follow this feeling downward, on my own terms, at any cost. Nothing Society does to me can be worse than this feeling. I need to know what’s causing the agony. I need to know where it's coming from and how to stop it before any of the other Vibrissas hear these screams, too. DO NOT FOLLOW ME! I mean it. If anyone asks, tell them I'm on exploration. The less people that know about this, the better. I hope to…

Jax

I can’t even finish the letter. How could Jena be so stupid? What in the galaxy was she thinking? She must have gone mad. Stark-raving mad. Short-circuited or something. The cellar? Really, Jena? On your own volition? The only people that go down to the cellar are those whose wires got crossed. By force, no less! And they rarely make it back up. The cellar is off limits to civs- she should know better. She does know better. How does Jena even know for certain what a scream sounds like? I can’t even imagine what frequency fear vibrates at. Seems like the Biblical Hell.

What should I do? How does she expect me to read this letter and literally not do anything? Granted, I may not be an Intuitive like she is, but God, I am too young to be a hero! I haven’t even grown a mustache yet! Now Jena is gonna get me running all over the Station risking my life to go find her. Ugh. Totally not the way I envisioned spending our senior year together. So, that’s it? I’m gonna go find her now?

His watch lit up. Jax quickly gathered the letter and his backpack and headed for the library on the second floor of the Station. He knew Jena would get gridlocked within the week if Society got a hold of her meddling in the cellar. Intuitive or not, no civs allowed in the cellar. Jax was determined to find her before They could. Amira, Jena’s twin sister, works at the data anthology lab and he knew she could keep a secret. Under any other circumstance, Jena could trust Jax with anything, but this is a life or gridlock situation. No time for kept promises. Jax needed as much information as he could possibly download about the Station if he were to find her.

Stop number one: Amira.

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Hazel S

The current of words that flow through a Syrian-American woman. A conduit of subjective Truth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.