Poets logo

Human Nature

Poem about an alien's first encounter with people.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
4
Human Nature
Photo by Brian McMahon on Unsplash

Out of the sky the space creature fell

It was from heaven but soon would find hell

He floated down and stood on my street

He was naked without even shoes on his feet

As he advanced I shouted "Oh dear"

An alien being was about to come right here

I wondered if he were a friend or a foe

And thru telepathy he let me know

He read my thoughts and extended his hand

An extraterrestrial was now in our land

I enclosed it's fingers inside my own

With my mind I made my feelings known

The first communication was to prepare

My new friend of earthlings to be aware

Right away I knew it understood

Not all humans would consider a space to be good

As a shouting crowd began to draw near

I saw in his eyes he was realizing fear

The mob drew closer the alien tightened his grip

He put his other hand around my hip

We were soaring in the blink of an eye

Above the angry crowd into the sky

Not one sound was uttered no words did he say

As we rose through the galaxy far far away

surreal poetry
4

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)8 months ago

    Awesome 👍 ❤️📝💯👌

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.