Poets logo

Huh?

Get Over Yourself

By Cathy holmesPublished 2 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
62
photo by Michelle Henderson on Unsplash

"Women who speak up for themselves are rude.

Men who disagree will be scolded.

Those who insist will be ostracized.

I agree with and support your culture, just don't tell me it's normal.

Don't tell me I'm not better than you; that I don't know better than you.

You, who ignore my cries will be replaced, criticized and held as an outlet to my righteous anger.

Everything you say I am is a lie

Everything you say I did, I will turn back on you.

I am the wise one.

I am the champion."

...OR...

Maybe you're just a

misogynistic,

homophobic,

narcissist

who shines only through their blinding arrogance.

Get over yourself!

slam poetry
62

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (52)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. SchΓ€ferabout a month ago

    I can think of a few people who should read this, and they can probably think of a few as well. Everyone thinks they're above this behaviour, don't they πŸ€”

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    I can list those it would be nice to send this to!! ❀️ Congrats!!

  • Mariann Carroll2 months ago

    You tell him, Cathy!!! I enjoy the message in this poem ❀️

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    Whoa!!! If words could give you a black eye the narcissist would have two after reading this...Well done, my friend!

  • Gerard DiLeo2 months ago

    Congrats on TS. Yes, they walk among us.

  • John Cox2 months ago

    Circling back to congratulate you on your Top Story! Well deserved!

  • Lana V Lynx2 months ago

    Some people need this type of poetic beating, for sure. Well done, Cathy!

  • Gerald Holmes2 months ago

    YES THIS!!!!!!! CONGRATS

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    Yay, congrats on another fine Top Story!

  • CONGRATS ON YOUR TOP STORY!

  • M. Lee2 months ago

    Congrats on top story!! Well done!!

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    Ha! Cathy you’re the best! This is so good!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! πŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠπŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠ

  • Chloe2 months ago

    hmmmmmm i seem to have written the exact opposite of this poem hmmmmmmmmmmmm...

  • Kendall Defoe 2 months ago

    Well said!

  • The Dani Writer2 months ago

    What a powerful punch of a poem! Knocked it out the park Cathy! Top Story 'Woohoo Yeah' Congrats!

  • Carol Townend2 months ago

    Well done on your TS. I will always speak my truth, because this is my truth only, and mine to tell.

  • Heather Hubler2 months ago

    Woohoo! Congrats on TS!!

  • Congratulations Cathy

  • Sandra Matos2 months ago

    Speak the truth!!! I love this times infinity!!!!!!

  • JBaz2 months ago

    Congratulations, love this one

  • Thank you all who have read and commented.

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!πŸ₯³πŸ₯³πŸ₯³

  • Excellent words, the final section has been used to describe me by some not nice people, but I know what I am and what my friends think. Love this

  • Leslie Writes2 months ago

    Right on!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.