Poets logo

How to take a moment

Snacktime sonata

By Hannah MoorePublished about a month ago 1 min read
18
How to take a moment
Photo by Tamas Pap on Unsplash

Above the plains the mountains rise,

Forested flanks and gleaming heights,

And above again, beyond the skies,

Heaven waits to ease all plights.

So chocolate sits above all others,

Fruit and bread and nutty butters,

All improved where e’er she smothers,

Coaxing wounded hearts to flutters.

But on her own she elevates,

Casts lesser morsels to empty wastes,

Pleasure she substantiates,

With how she feels and how she tastes.

The scent of her both thrills and warms,

Loving mother with wicked horns,

Both harbour home and whirling storms,

“I can love you true” she warns.

Then her touch, like softest silks,

Smoother than the finest silts,

The nurturance of still warm milks,

Of feather beds and satin quilts.

Now in my mouth, her revelations!

No hurried touch, no tart impatience,

She gives me all, no limitations,

With just a taste, complete renaissance.

Across my tongue she slowly slides,

And smooths away all woes and fights,

While my soul she gently guides,

To wander healed in fearless lights.

Authors note: I can no longer eat chocolate, one square is two days of migraine. It took me a long while to acknowledge that. Chocolate transported me, even if very temporarily, away from school, and later from work or other pressures, and into a moment of complete safety and bliss. Twenty or more years since I stopped eating it, I continue to miss it EVERY DAY. Sometimes, I place a crumb on my tongue and take a moment for myself.

love poems
18

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis23 days ago

    Oh all this, from a crumb. What a beautiful moment, indeed. I go weeks without chocolate and then when I have it again, it feels like this. I am such a student of your rhyming. I must get better, and youre always so good!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a month ago

    First sorry you can't have chocolate. That sucks. I stay away for a different reason: metabolism slows as you age, lol. Great poem Hannah

  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    Ahhh beautiful, you almost have me convinced! I find it wildly overrated ❤️

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    It's funny...I kinda picked up very sensual vibes from this reverential piece...like Kayleigh. This is just masterful, beautiful writing. Like...every single line could be highlighted and forensically analysed for its brilliance. I love how you put chocolate on a huge pedestal and the way you did it. I definitely resonated with it...I can eat chocolate though...so I am sad about the fact you can't. For me, I can't drink instant coffee (which doesn't sound like a bad thing...but we mostly get instant and then occasionally stuff for the mokka pot or cafieteiere) but cos instant coffee sets off my acid reflux. Fancy coffee from a coffeeshop or like Maccie D's or whatever - totally fine lol. Anyway, that's besides the point. This is magical writing, Hannah. As ever, you blow me away.

  • My mantra concerning desserts has long been, "If it isn't chocolate, what's the point?" Yet now I, too, must moderate (fortunately not eliminate) my intake for the sake of migraines & type 2 diabetes. I really miss my French silk pie.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Omgggg, I'm truly so sorry you cannot eat chocolate anymore 🥺 Have you tried carob chips carob powder? Lamar Wiggins couldn't eat chocolate so I didn't some Googling and came across these carob thingy. I suggested that to him but I'm not sure if he's tried it yet. Maybe you can try them?

  • D.K. Shepardabout a month ago

    This poem is rich just like the subject! Loved the “complete renaissance” line! I’m so sorry about the inability to eat chocolate! I don’t know what I’d do! I eat half a bar of dark almost every day…

  • Novel Allenabout a month ago

    Do you think it is the hot chocolate which is causing my migraines lately. I been having some awful ones. I was going for brain tumor or something deadly. I will give it up and see. Such a treat is very hard to give up. Oh dear. I hope you found something else to substitute.

  • Kodahabout a month ago

    Love it! I want a piece now!! 💝🍫

  • P.A.Vinura Jayasankaabout a month ago

    You have embedded the feelings to chocolate, I enjoyed it!

  • Rachel Deemingabout a month ago

    Such wistful remembrance. I take it it triggers them. Awful but what a wonderful poem in tribute.

  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨about a month ago

    P.S. why do you believe you can’t eat chocolate? of course this immediately triggered my curiosity!

  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨about a month ago

    I was definitely not reading this as being about chocolate by the end! That was long forgotten as I plunged into memories of a new reality (juxtaposition intended ✨) What a superb immersion into sensual feeling this poem was ✨👌🤍🙏 It was so lyrically beautiful I read it aloud 🤍 Great work!

  • Sara about a month ago

    I love that you literally wrote a poem about chocolate;) it deserves that attention. I loved every word …

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.