Poets logo

How to pour a cup of coffee

-

By Lisa HerdmanPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
4
Photo by Karolina Grabowska

I was nineteen and embarrassed -

I’d never made a cup of coffee before.

I stood in the doorway listening

to the click buzz click buzz cicadas

and trying to pick out the perfect cup

for the occasion.

/

That’s the trick, I thought,

the cup has to be just right.

/

I dug through sticky cabinets, reminding the

oooo wahhh creaking hinge to stay open.

Don’t you know that this is important?

The mismatched cups sat quietly.

/

Black, black, blue, white,

until I saw it -

black and gold and only

a tiny bit chipped.

/

I struggle to shhhh

apart the filters,

stuffing them in and

packing down the grounds

before I hit the button.

/

No water!

I stammered to the left.

Turn the button off!

I stammered back.

/

I pulled the settled pot out

to drink from the sink,

set it back in,

pulled it back out,

poured its mouth into the machine

then replaced it.

/

I paused in the click buzz click buzz.

/

Hit the button.

excerptshow to
4

About the Creator

Lisa Herdman

I'm learning to be wildly inappropriate, ridiculous, needy - and alive.

Thank you so much for all the support!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock12 months ago

    I never learned to drink coffee, though I've always loved the smell (& coffee ice cream is one of my favorites). Still, for a while I made it for my wife. She always gave explicit instructions. Now she no longer trusts me. (Either that, or I don't get up early enough anymore.)

  • Loryne Andawey12 months ago

    Oh my heart. A baby caffeine addict in the wild. But seriously, this was a precious moment. I can picture them trying to be quiet so as to not wake the household. Click buzz click buzz :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.