Poets logo

How I miss my new home

I cherish the memories I had

By shalom okonPublished 10 days ago 1 min read
Meta

In a distant land, my heart does roam,\
Longing for the place I used to call home.\


The memories I cherish, the stories I've known,\
Oh, how I miss my first home.

In that small corner, amidst familiar walls,\
Echoes of laughter, the sound of footsteps that falls.\


Every room tells a tale, as time gently crawls,\
Oh, how I miss my first home.

The scent of fresh air, that greeted each day,\
The warmth of sunshine, that was there to stay.\


The blooming flowers, dancing in display,\
Oh, how I miss my first home.

The kitchen where love's aroma would arise,\
The table where endless conversations would arise.\


Each meal shared, filled with heartfelt sighs,\
Oh, how I miss my first home.

The rooms that embraced me, providing solace,\
The comfort of a bed, where dreams would find promise.\


Those peaceful nights, beneath a starry expanse,\
Oh, how I miss my first home.

The faces, now distant, but forever etched in my mind,\
The laughter and tears, in moments shared, intertwined.\


Though miles apart, a connection I'll always find,\
Oh, how I miss my first home.

But as time moves on, and distances grow wide,\
I carry with me, the love that resides.\


For home is not just a place; it's a feeling inside,\
And in my heart, my first home will forever reside

l

slam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poems

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Manisha Dhalani10 days ago

    Brilliant writing. I really related with this one.

SOWritten by shalom okon

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.